Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 142 #sffsat

SFF LogoClick on the logo above for links to other fantastic authors participating in this blog hop.

Well, I have a new puzzle.

The ice cap at the North Pole is very definitely floating. It’s not smooth; in fact collisions of large, flat areas of ice have resulted in ice ridges tall enough to be called small hills. But when I try to perceive land under them, there is nothing but salt water. Deep salt water.

This doesn’t make sense. Water is much more efficient than air at carrying heat from the equator to the poles. Given an ocean at the poles that is open to equatorial water, warm water from the equator will quickly thaw any temporary winter ice. Certainly the polar ocean is open to the warm ocean to the east of the continent where I am living; I’ve flown over it. What is happening on this planet?

Unless….

I went back and studied the few images I have of the planet from space. It’s hard to tell the difference between clouds, snow-covered land, and ice, but I cannot rule out the possibility of land almost surrounding the frozen ocean aside from the corridor I’ve followed. It’s relatively warm now in the north, and there are about another eight fivedays before the sun sets at the North Pole, so I suppose I had better spend that exploration time following the coastline from the northernmost land I’ve found to the east. At least I should find out whether the mountain range where I saw the aurora is part of an island or a peninsula.

Want the whole thing? Jarn’s Journal, the journal of a fictional alien stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago, is posted as it is written on my author page.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 142 #sffsat

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    One of the things Jarn is good at is making us see our own world with a renewed sense of wonder. My physics isn’t great (secondary school level): this made me look at the north polar region again to try to explain the mystery for myself. I suspect I’ll have to wait for Jarn to explain it to me!

  2. It’s still not beyond argument.

Leave a Reply

