Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 34 #sffsat

SFF LogoClick on the logo above to find links to other fantastic authors.

Year 10 Day 34

I think I may have underestimated Torch Flower.

When she approached me, I really thought she was trying again to seduce me, but her first question was, “Don’t you keep things cold to preserve them?”

“Yes,” I agreed. “Meat especially, but even plant foods keep better if they’re cold.”

“Couldn’t part of the ice and snow you brought us be used to keep things fresh for the feast?

I blinked in surprise. “I think it would come better from the shamans. They’re meeting already, aren’t they?”

Rain Cloud, Lion, Crane, and several other shamans were talking together when Torch Flower and I arrived. “Torch Flower has an idea,” I said, “and I think it’s a good one.” I looked at her.

She gulped and stammered, “Couldn’t part of the ice be reserved for keeping food cold? Especially the food for the feast? Jarn says it’ll keep longer that way.”

Jarn’s journal is the record left by a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He has been exploring Europe, and has most recently teleported a large chunk of glacier ice to the area where the People (our ancestors) have their annual gather. For his entire Journal to date see my author site; for a longer version of this post see my main blog. The whole journal is the remote back story to my science fiction.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 34 #sffsat

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    I like the way you remind us now and again that although these people are, by our standards, primitive, they are not stupid. To be fair, having Jarn around must do wonders for expanding their outlooks, but the key is that they have brains and can use them.

  2. I hope they listen to her. Somehow, I doubt it. Although she is showing that she is capable of intelligent thought, cultural schisms may prevent them from taking advice from a woman. I hope I’m wrong.

    • No problem there–about half the shamans are women. But it doesn’t make sense for a nomadic hunter-gatherer population to think about storing food. This time, while they’re all together and getting ready for a feast, yes. But food storage comes on the scene only when it is (a) needed and (b) possible. Neither affects the People in their normal nomadic lifestyle. Food storage became important with agriculture and settling down in one place.

  3. jccassels says:

    I love these insights you create into this world. I also love how Jarn is impressed with Torch Flower’s leap of logic. I found it touching how you showed both Jarn’s reaction, and her fear and courage in speaking with the shamans on the subject.

Leave a Reply

