Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 27 #sffsat

SFF Logo

Hello, everybody. I had understood Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday was closing after March, so I have been concentrating on the A to Z challenge over the last month at my main blog.  Jarn came with me on Fridays, exploring north from Scandinavia, but I discovered last week that this group is still going, so I’m going back to posting here Friday night (my time.) For those new to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, click on the logo above to find links to snippets by other authors.

I checked the major routes in to the lake early this morning, and sure enough there were several family groups converging on the gather site. Definitely time to prepare, I thought, so I teleported to the land east of the linear sea for the sweet-smelling gum, to the tideless sea for the shellfish that produce the purple dye for adornment, and to the great river for the sweet dates.

I still needed salt, so this afternoon I teleported to the salt lake and gathered salt pebbles, lake water to evaporate, and a few salt boulders. There was still daylight, so I explored the valley to the north of the lake.

They will want me adorned; I know that from experience. I’ll have to ask Rainbow for help, but I want something, like last year, that is not fiendishly hot. I think I found it in the valley. There are flowers enough near the lake, but none quite like some that I am finding east of the tideless sea.

Would they stay fresh, if I put the cut stems in water? I can try.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 27 #sffsat

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Nice to see Jarn back here! And I like the contrast between Jarn teleporting and then worrying about putting the stems of flowers in water – his technology may be extraordinary, but some things still need tried and tested methods.

  2. Welcome back, Sue! It’s good to see Jarn among the SFFSat posts again.

    There’s nothing like doing a little shopping before a party. Right? His gifts are sure to be well accepted.

  3. A-Z on my main blog saw him discovering drift ice, a short biography, a polar bear and Iceland with a volcano erupting.

  4. jccassels says:

    Jarn is such a considerate guest. Is he taking things to trade or just as gifts?

Leave a Reply

