Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 3 #SFFSAT

SFF Logo

Year 10 day 3

I haven’t tried to explore the oceans, for the simple reason that they don’t have landmarks. For some reason it was not until early this morning that it occurred to me: couldn’t I teleport directly to a given latitude and longitude? I wouldn’t dare do it over uneven ground, of course, unless I teleported to a point high enough there was no chance of arriving underground. But a latitude and longitude where I had been before, where I knew there was nothing but water beneath me ….

I checked the coordinates I have recorded, and found two points from which I had gone high enough to be sure there was nothing but the tideless sea in sight, and where I could triangulate to a point at a latitude and longitude that I was sure was over water. It worked! So if I flew directly north from the northernmost land mass I have found, and teleported back to my home when I was tired, I could resume flight the next day from the latitude and longitude I had reached the day before.

I’ve been worrying about whether there was a northern ice cap, and this way I can find out.

I’m confident now it does not reach the peninsula I have been exploring; there is a warm current from the south washing its shores. But if I head due north, I can at least find out if the pole is ice-free. The northward equinox is the ideal time; I will have enough sunlight to see easily but any ice will not have melted yet.

Besides, it will give me something to do until the People return.

Sadly, this is the last week for Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, but not for Jarn. He’s on my main blog every Friday, and you’re invited to follow him there.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 3 #SFFSAT

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    So Jarn has found an effective way to cross long distances and explore more of the world – which means we, the readers, get to see more of the world through his eyes. A neat way to expand his journal.

  2. T. M. Hunter says:

    Good stuff. An interesting transition into ocean exploration.

  3. jccassels says:

    I like how Jarn so matter-of-factly deals with potential problems. Ocean exploration could be problematic, especially if he teleports into a hurricane!

Leave a Reply

