Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 1

SFF LogoClick on the logo for links to other fantastic writers.

Year 10 Day 1

Last night I saw the Aurora.

It’s the northward equinox, and the People will be here for the Gather before long. I’ve continued to explore the northern continent, though I never know what weather I’m going to teleport into. It’s now half day and half night, and I thought I’d have a look and see whether the animals behave the same way during a normal night as they do during the long polar darkness. I took the bearskin as well as my winter clothes, and wrapped up to watch.

I knew the moon would be a late crescent by now, but I arrived in a clear evening. The stars brightened slowly as my eyes adjusted to the dimming light, and I began to worry about keeping awake.

Then the lights began.

Just a flicker of something that was not stars, at first. Then a green curtain, waving over my head and showing other colors as it brightened. I watched open-mouthed as it came and went, constantly changing color and form.

How can anyone describe this? I wondered at first that I had been so unimpressed when I heard of this phenomenon, and then decided that those who told me of it could no more put words to it than can I.

I wonder how long it will be before other intelligent eyes see this?

Again, this is the wrong place (in Alaska) and the wrong time period (try to ignore the telephone poles.) And it’s time-lapse, which means the aurora appears to be moving a little fast. But there are times when it does appear to dance across the sky.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 10 Day 1

  1. jccassels says:

    I’ve always been fascinated by the aurora borealis. I’m always a bit envious of those who have seen it. Thanks for starting my day off with a smile!

  2. Ten years with Jarn. Wow! Time flies, huh? I feel deprived as I still have yet to see the aurora in person. Maybe someday.

  3. I’ve seen the aurora in NE Montana, though it is rare there. Magical. Glad Jarn gets to see it.

  4. S.A. Check says:

    As always, Jarn has a way of putting things into perspective. Love the line about how long before other intelligent eyes see the same event.

  5. Peter Vialls says:

    A beautiful description of the aurora. I’ve seen the aurora once, when atmospheric conditions enabled us to see it in Eastern England – extraordinary. Your description brought that memory flooding back – thanks!

Leave a Reply

