Jarn’s Journal Year 9 Day 285 #SFFSAT

SFF LogoI’m delighted to see Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday active again, and with a whole fifteen sentences to play with. Click on the logo above to find other participating authors, and instructions for joining in.

Year 9 Day 285

“Find me a large skin,” Songbird suggested, “and I’ll see if I’ve learned their methods for tanning right. Look for a prey animal. I think that’s what they use mostly, the hides of the animals they kill for food.”

There are some animals with branched antlers that seem quite comfortable in the snow that covers the area I am now exploring, and when I saw one break through river ice and swept under, I managed to lock onto the body and teleport it to my side. The coat was indeed dense, with hollow hair that promised warmth with a minimum of weight.

Songbird had emphasized the importance of removing all flesh and membranes from the inside of the hide, so I did that while I was teleporting the hide clear of the body. I brought her the head, too, along with the meat, extra salt, obsidian and sweet dates as payment.

It took her many fivedays, but today she presented me with the tanned hide.

“Suppose you teleport me to the lake to work with Rainbow in making you body coverings?” she suggested. “I studied the way the northern hunters made them, and I think I could do better than the ones she made for me.”

I thought this over. Songbird is still the only one of the People I feel safe teleporting, and she still can’t leave her daughter for more than half a day. “An afternoon at a time,” I told her, “and only if you can Rainbow can work in harmony. Tell her what you have observed.” Rainbow is learning to make me fitted garments, and with clothing made from this hide, along with the bearskin, I will actually be equipped to explore the cold northern continent even in the local winter.

The video is the wrong place and the wrong time of year, but it does show the right animals.

Jarn’s journal is supposedly the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa around 125,000 years ago. He has met some of our ancestors, and is currently exploring Europe. This excerpt is a copy of the one on my main blog, and has been added to the long version of Jarn’s Journal on my author website. It forms part of the background story for the world of the Jarnian Confederation where my published fiction is set.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 9 Day 285 #SFFSAT

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Teleporting makes difficult, messy tasks far easier. I’m impressed that Songbird has understood and coped with the concept so readily – a reminder that humans of any era are adaptable. Good sequence.

    • Remember Songbird was a small child the first time Jarn teleported her, and reacted very badly at the time even though she was unconscious. The first time she really remembers, also as a child, was the emergency teleport out of a fast-moving grass fire. Children are much more flexible than adults, and she associated teleporting (though she understands it no more than she understands gravity) with being taken to safety.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    It’s also nice to be reminded that even someone such as Jarn, with all of his special abilities, has to worry about the small things like staying warm. The mix of death and life you inject into many of your snippets drive home point that Jarn is constantly in survival mode. Good stuff.

  3. Jarn has gotten a lot better with using his teleport ability, or at least he’s now revealing little tricks like removing the animal’s skin that I hadn’t seen before. You never cease to amaze me.

    • The separation of skin from a body is something he’s been doing for a while but it’s more telekinesis than teleportation. And being forced to practice has really improved all of his esper skills.

  4. Now, this is interesting. Not only am I impressed by Jarn’s artistry/technical genius with teleporting, I’m made to think about the implications of being able to kill with such detachment. As easy as a thought with practice. Very, very interesting concepts at work here. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

