Jarn’s Journal Year 9 Day 201 #sffsat

SFF Logo

To find more fantastic authors click the logo above and you’ll find a list of today’s posts. I believe a hiatus is scheduled for February, but Jarn will still be on my main blog every Friday.

Year 9 Day 201

Photo Source

Photo Source

I have been following the western coastline, which is forested and cut by deep fjords. It is getting quite cold at night, and the deciduous trees are starting to change color. I am glad that I traded for furs as I did, and that Rainbow was able to make them into warm clothing – I need it here. In fact, I have reached the point when I envy some of the predators their coats. Especially the large one I saw today.

It had the teeth of a carnivore, but it was stuffing itself on dried berries. Luckily I can levitate, because when I inadvertently disturbed it in its feeding, I thought for a moment it was going to attack me in spite of the warnoff. Once I was out of its reach the warnoff took effect, and it went back to feeding. But the northern hunters must regard this animal as their greatest enemy.

I didn’t try to trade for the larger skins, though now I have a better idea of their origin.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien marooned in Africa some 125,000 years ago, in the interglacial period preceding our own. He has made friends with some of our African ancestors, and observed their Neanderthal cousins in Europe. He is now trying to find the northern icecap he thought he saw from space, traveling along the coast of what is now Norway.

A longer version of this post can be found on my main blog. Jarn’s Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 9 Day 201 #sffsat

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    And Jarn learns a valuable lesson – don’t mess with bears. They may look cuddly, but they aren’t. As always, I enjoy the way you show us our world through other eyes.

    • I’ve lived in Alaska for 50 years. No bear encounters, but I know basic bear avoidance skills — like never surprise one.
      And I know how dangerous wild animals can be, especially if they’ve lost fear of humans. (Wish I had a warnoff.)

  2. S.A. Check says:

    You always have a way of stripping it down to the basics through Jarn. Clothing, food, and survival and you provide such great details along the way.

  3. jccassels says:

    I love the way you’ve described the bear without coming out and calling it such. There was no doubt in my mind that’s what Jarn had encountered. Great details as usual!

Leave a Reply

