Jarn’s Journal #SFFSat

SFF LogoTo find other snippets by fantastic authors, click on the logo above.

Year 8, Day 252

Were the furs worn by the northern hunters as stiff as my leopard skin?

Today I found proof that they are not.

I have been spying on the hunters when I find them, but keeping out of sight. Today, however, I found where one of the hunters, probably too old to dodge his prey, had been killed instead of killing. A pack of wolves was feasting on his remains, but I used the warnoff to drive them away long enough that I could examine the body.

Physically, I found nothing to contradict my earlier impressions. But the furs he wore, however crudely tailored, were as soft as my loincloth.

He had no further use for them, I told myself, and took them to show Rainbow that hides could indeed retain the fur and still be flexible. But I made sure not to teleport back any of the living creatures that infested them. Fleas and lice I do not need!

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. He has made friends with a group of our ancestors in Africa, but he is currently exploring Europe, where he has found a group of Neanderthals. This is only the last half of this entry; for the entire entry see my main blog. The whole journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jarn’s Journal #SFFSat

  1. S.A. Check says:

    Hi Sue. Everything Jarn can accomplish and he is left amazed by the texture of a certain fabric. The whole scene with the hunter killed by the wolves and Jarn’s interest more focused on what he is wearing was an interesting read.

    • It’s cold even in southern Europe at this time of year (winter solstice approaching) and he’s just had a conversation with Rainbow about the possibility of hide clothing with the fur left on. She can’t understand why he’d want it and insists it isn’t possible. If the hunter had still been alive no doubt he would have reacted as he did earlier to Songbird, but since the man is dead, he might as well learn what he can.

  2. Peter Vialls says:

    He may have extraordinary powers, but even Jarn can be troubled by lice and fleas. Fortunately, he can use his powers to evade their attentions – lucky man!

  3. I just love your descriptions. Puts me right in there. Right down to the detail of fleas and lice. Love how he evades those 🙂

Leave a Reply

