Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 230 #SFFSAT

SFF Logo

It’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, when a group of fantastic authors share up to 10 sentences of their writing. Click on the logo to find other authors

I think I saw one of the northern hunters today.

It was quite a distance from where I met and killed the pig – I’ve been careful not to go back to the immediate vicinity of that spot. True, I have interfered with one sentient species, and I will continue to do so. I cannot stand to be alone again. But one species is enough. I will not bear the guilt of a similar interaction with this new species.

The People travel in search of game, following the rains. The northern group I saw seem to migrate also, but in response to temperature rather than moisture. There is now snow on the higher peaks, and the group or possibly family I saw appeared to be traveling toward the warmer coastline. They wore furs, which are so warm as to be punishing among the People, but I found myself coveting them in the mountains.

 

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. He has befriended a group of our ancestors and is exploring the world on which he finds himself. This post is much shortened from a longer version on my main blog. For the entire Journal to date, see my author site. Jarn’s story is part of the back story of the world in which my science fiction is set.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 230 #SFFSAT

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Jarn can seem very human sometimes – complex meldings of guilt and desires, all bound up in boundless curiosity.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    “I cannot stand to be alone again” – that line really hit me. You really paint him as a “watcher” at times and others a stranger in a strange land trying to fit in but this universal truth hit home. Well done.

Leave a Reply

