Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 195 #sffsat

SFF Logo

Welcome to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, a blog hop where fantastic authors share up to 10 sentences of their work. Click the logo above to find them.

As usual, I am posting a snippet from Jarn’s Journal, written by a human-like alien named Jarn who was stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. He is exploring the world on which he finds himself, and this entry records his experiences in the southern fringe of what we would call the Balkans.

Year 8 Day 195

Wild Boar

Wild Boar (Photo credit)

The trees are similar to those I’ve been seeing since well north of the salt lake, including two varieties with large seeds which are now turning from green to brown and dropping to the forest floor. The warthogs-without-warts were gobbling them up with great enthusiasm, so I put samples of both types in my collecting bag. Given their tusks, I was glad of the warnoff.

It was close to evening and I was resting with my back against a tree when one of the hogs came staggering into the clearing where I sat, straight towards me. Blood was dripping from its mouth, and while I was not sure whether it was its own or if it had used those formidable tusks on another, I stopped its heart in self-defense. Warnoffs don’t always work on an animal already in a blood-lust.

What to do with the carcass? Warthogs can be good eating if they have been feeding on seeds and fruit, though if they have been eating carrion or fish – well, I prefer my fish first hand. If this one had been eating the large seeds, however ….

I decided to see what Rainbow could do with it, and teleported the hog, which turned out to be a fairly young sow, to her.

A somewhat longer version of this post can be found on my main blog. The entire Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 195 #sffsat

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Every now and then Jarn does something that reminds us that he is actually extremely powerful. The casual phrase “I stopped its heart” is actually quite chilling. I’m just glad that everything else we’ve seen about Jarn confirms that he is fundamentally a nice guy. Good snippet – thanks!

Leave a Reply

