Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 165 #SFFSAT

SFF Logo

It’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, when a group of fantastic authors share up to 10 sentences of their writing. Click on the logo to find other authors.

Year 8, Day 165

I’ve found the end of the trench.

It’s been running pretty well parallel to the coastline, but both the northward trend of the coastline and the trench stopped with a jumble of mountains trending east-west, as far as such a jumble can be said to have a trend. The coast turned abruptly westward at almost the same latitude.

My geology is pretty shaky, but I checked the plate tectonics in the computer. If the trench is an incipient opening between two plates, as I suspect of the lake I live on, the jumble ahead, which looks very new and raw (geologically speaking) probably represents a plate colliding with the separating pair.

Once again I went very high to survey the mountains ahead, and found some areas that merely looked crumpled and earthquake-prone, and others with some very odd looking erosional features. Although it is still hot and dry, I suspect from the vegetation I am in a winter-rain area. Allowing for the considerable elevation, this area may even be prone to snow in the winter.

Several of the trees have what looks like unripe fruits and nuts of varieties new to me. I will have to check them out later in the season, and perhaps bring some samples back to Rainbow.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. He has befriended a group of our ancestors and is exploring the world on which he finds himself. This post is much shortened from a longer version on my main blog. For the entire Journal to date, see my author site. Jarn’s story is part of the back story of the world in which my science fiction is set.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 165 #SFFSAT

  1. S.A. Check says:

    Cool picture, fits well with the piece, geologically speaking. He’s found some new fruits and nuts for Rainbow, always a plus.

  2. Peter Vialls says:

    I’m learning a lot about the geology of this area – which I knew nothing about before. The benefits of seeing the world through alien eyes…

  3. I had no idea where he was until I read your reply to Mr. Check. I’m always learning something new with your snippets, Sue.

  4. Tara Quan says:

    I like how he’s always thinking of what he can bring back to Rainbow. First the cedar and now some new fruit varieties.

Leave a Reply

