Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 117 #SFFSAT

SFF Logo

It’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, when a group of fantastic authors share up to 10 sentences of their writing. Click on the logo to find other authors.

Photo Source

Halite (salt) pebbles. Photo Source

I thought until this evening that my failure to taste salt in the food Rainbow was preparing was due to my being so surrounded by salt that my sense of taste was overwhelmed. It finally occurred to me that the gifts of the group had not included salt, probably because I generally supply it. All suns evaporate salty sea water to produce salt, so it wasn’t as if there was a real shortage.

When I asked her if she could use any salt she told me, very apologetically, that she had almost none left.

I could not help laughing, which made her look even more martyred.

“I’m laughing at myself, not at you,” I assured her once I got myself under control. “I’ve been surrounded by salt lately – pebbles to mountains. I’ll bring you several forms, and you can decide if pebbles, crusts, or evaporated lake water would be the most useful for you. But please, if you need something you don’t have, tell me. I had no idea you needed salt.”

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. He has befriended a group of our ancestors and is exploring the world on which he finds himself. This post is much shortened from a longer version on my main blog. For the entire Journal to date, see my author site. Jarn’s story is part of the back story of the world in which my science fiction is set. (The pebbles in the photo, by the way, are halite — better known as salt.)

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 117 #SFFSAT

  1. Peter Vialls says:

    Jarn laughed! Nice to see him being mildly foolish – good snippet, as always.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    A little domestic disturbance at the Jarn household? I liked the line that he had been “surrounded by salt lately – pebbles to mountains.” Nice flow.

  3. Tara Quan says:

    I like how they almost seem like a normal couple even though Jarn is from a different planet. It makes me feel more invested.

  4. T.K. Toppin says:

    Nice interaction here. And yes, this is the first time (I think) seeing Jarn laugh. Good fun. And yes, salt is good. Love it!

    • Salt is a necessity of life which in many places (not the Dead Sea) is hard to come by. Hence the salt caravans of the Sahara (now taken over by trucks. but for many generations a major use of camels.)

  5. Seeing Jarn laugh brought a smile to my face. And, I like the way the cue word fit into the passage. It sneaked up on me. Nice job!

    • Cue word sentence got added at the last minute–I wrote this before the cue word was announced. (For that matter, next month’s is already cued, and I’ll have to go back and put the cue word in when it’s announced.)

Leave a Reply

