Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 112 #SFFSAT

SFF Logo

It’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, when a group of fantastic authors share up to 10 sentences of their writing. Click on the logo to find other authors.

Jarn has decided he can get a wider view by teleporting above about 90% of the atmosphere while using telekinesis to keep from having his eardrums rupture and his blood boil

Photo Credit Woods Hole

Photo Credit Woods Hole

It had not occurred to me that the desert heat would feel so welcome when I got back down; it’s cold up there!

I also got my look, and as I warmed up I tried to make sense of what I had seen.

The tideless sea is indeed where I expected to find it, ahead and to the left as far as I could see. To the right, sand and mountains. But straight ahead, bordered by steep sides and even higher mountains, is what I can only describe as a trench in the land, . I think I saw water ahead, separated by higher ground from what lies below me, but I saw no sign of any connection to the tideless sea. Neither can I see an end to the trench.

I’ve wondered before if the continent on which I crashed might be rifting apart, and indeed if the lake on whose shores I now live might be part of that rift. Is it possible that this vast linear trench is part of the same system?

Jarn’s Journal is the back story of the Jarnian Confederation, in which my published stories are set. Jarn is a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa after a starship wreck some 125,000 years ago. He has met and been adopted as a god (much to his annoyance) by a group of our ancestors. A longer version of this post can be found on my main blog; his journal to date is on my author site.

 

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 112 #SFFSAT

  1. S.A. Check says:

    Jarn’s experiencing a little continental drift. Nice scene to drive home the point of just what era Jarn is existing in and I like how you demonstrated it. You always balance his “human” behaviors with “alien” ones well.

    • In plate tectonics terms a mere 125,000 years has little effect, and the sea sea level would have been about like today’s. In evolutionary terms there were Neanderthals and Denisovans (and possibly others at about the same stage) in Europe and Asia, and Homo at several stages of evolution in Africa. But they were very rare. My major problem in finding photos is finding those with no sign of people or modern civilization.

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    As usual, brilliant detail. Got a clear sense of the surroundings. Love Jarn’s musings.

  3. Tara Quan says:

    My biology is a bit rusty, but I’m guessing tectonic plates. I love the “tideless sea” description–very poetic.

    • It’s what he’s calling the Mediterranean, which is almost tideless due to its near isolation from the world’s oceans. I think the term is also used in Biblical/Homerian times. I just spent a couple of days researching what the Black Sea would have been like in that time period (it has been periodically cut off and probably had a major flood when the sea level rose enough to cut the current channel at the end of the last ice age.)

  4. Very nice description of what is to Jarn an alien landscape. Reflects the vague sense of one’s surroundings upon seeing it from a particular angle for the first time.

  5. I love how you incorporate so much science into the scenes. Really gives it authenticity.

Leave a Reply

