Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 111 #SFFSAT

SFF Logo

It’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, when a group of fantastic authors share up to 10 sentences of their writing. Click on the logo to find other authors.

SE Med2I started at the great river delta to the north, assuming I would spot the linear sea to the south if I bore east. I’d hoped to find something but desert, but this direction is as self-similar as the coast to the west. Sand and occasional rock to my right, the tideless sea to my left, and heat. I think this may be the wrong time of year to explore here, since it’s close to the solstice in this hemisphere. On the positive side, I haven’t encountered any major storms.

The coastline is beginning to swing north, rather before I thought it would. I didn’t follow the eastern arm of the linear sea, but I took it for granted that it also would approach the tideless sea to the north. The coast is turning north too fast, though. Of course I was following the west shore of the linear sea, before, and didn’t get too good a look at the eastern arm – perhaps I should check out that arm further?

In fact, I think I’ll do just that tomorrow.

Jarn’s Journal is the back story of the Jarnian Confederation, in which my published stories are set. Jarn is a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa after a starship wreck some 125,000 years ago. He has met and been adopted as a god (much to his annoyance) by a group of our ancestors. A longer version of this post can be found on my main blog; his journal to date is on my author site.

If you don’t have Horse Power yet, it will be free again tomorrow at Amazon.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 111 #SFFSAT

  1. S.A. Check says:

    At times your posts display Jarn’s attempts while trying to assimilate with the natives and then there are these posts which remind us he’s really alone on a strange alien world and him as an explorer.

  2. tktoppin says:

    Agree with S.A. Nice detail!

  3. Tara Quan says:

    Sounds like the entire continent is bigger than he expected.

    • At this point he has mapped the entire coastline of Africa, and a lot of the more noticeable internal topography, on a latitude longitude grid with the equator and the longitude of his computer defined as zero. But he can’t even express its size in terms the People can understand.

  4. Nice internal dialogue an explorer would have with himself when encountering an unknown land.

  5. I love the way we see our world through fresh eyes. Well done in portraying this.

  6. jccassels says:

    I’m guessing he’s following the Dead Sea? I thoroughly enjoy playing explorer with Jarn!

Leave a Reply

