Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 61 SFFSat

SFF Logo

It’s Saturday, time for Science Fiction and Fantasy snippets from a variety of fantastic authors. Just click on the logo above.

Year 8 Day 61

RainbowRainbow may be just the helper I need. And she is definitely not interested in trying to seduce me.

In fact, I get the impression that her former mate treated her rather roughly, and that her only real regret at his death was the loss of the meat he provided. Certainly she is scarred and somewhat lame, but that makes no difference to me. What is important to me is that she is an expert at tanning and sewing hides and a more than passable cook. She is reasonably adept at butchery, and her cooking of small game such as birds and fish is mouth-watering.

So far as she is concerned, staying in one place and caring for a single person is a welcome respite from her duties to the group. Gazelle and Songbird have been advising her as to my needs (and quirks, I suspect) and my tendency to spend much of my time away exploring. I worry a little about the lack of company for her once the People leave, but Rainbow assures me she will enjoy the rest.

What is more, she likes Patches, and Patches likes her.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He had joined a group of our ancestors, and (much to his annoyance) is being treated as a god. A longer version of this post is on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 8 Day 61 SFFSat

  1. This is great news. I hope that Rainbow will indeed enjoy the solitude.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    I wonder if that’s where they came up with the term, “bringing home the bacon”. I enjoyed the fact that Rainbow only misses her last mate for the meats he provided.

  3. Tara Quan says:

    It seems like they’ve both found a perfect arrangement. I hope it works out well.

  4. I love when things are going well for Jarn–there’s a sense of well being.

Leave a Reply

