Snipppet from Horse Power #sffsat

SFF LogoI’m taking a break again from Jarn’s Journal, though it’s in its usual place as yesterday’s post on my main blog. Today all you science fiction and fantasy fans and authors get a peek from the story that’s free Saturday (Pacific time) and Sunday on Amazon, Horse Power. I’ve decided to give snippets when it’s free, and try and pick bits to show what the problem is. And for more fantastic snippets, click the logo above.

This piece is just after the one 3 weeks ago, when Roi discovered that the herder (or rather, the person trying to herd the silkies) was using a bicycle.

Horse Power cover“That,” [Amber] told him, “is probably the exploitation the Council heard about. Only I suspect it’s perfectly legal. The Company controls most of the shipping, and they only bring in things they can sell for Confederation credits, not for the barter we normally use.

“The only herding vehicles they import use fossil fuel. I suppose they could be modified to run on alcohol, but the manufacture or importation of alcohol is illegal.  That leaves us totally dependent on imports of fossil fuel.

“This is a terraformed planet.  There isn’t any fossil fuel, beyond some methane clathrates that we don’t have the equipment to mine.  Plenty of energy–solar, wind, hydro–but very little in portable form.  High-density power packs would work, but the Company is the only one with the resources to build a recharge plant, and they’re no more interested in that than they are in light, portable solar panels — they’d rather keep selling us liquid fossil fuel at outrageous prices.”

Health update: my 2nd round of chemo was earlier today (or yesterday, for those of you in the UK.) Don’t expect coherent comments. And I am losing hair (fast) so I’m considering going really wild on a wig. Shall I post photos? And if you want to find out what Jarn’s up to, he’s on my main blog.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snipppet from Horse Power #sffsat

  1. I finished reading Horse Power last week and really enjoyed it. I remember this scene, too. Quite the racket the Company had going.

    I hope the chemo works out for you. Feel free to post a pic. I wouldn’t mind seeing your wild side. 😉

    • I [planned to try out a wig or two while getting my chemo yesterday, but wound up with the two tylenols and a benedryl they gave me before infusion putting me to sleep. Probably won’t feel up to driving starting Sunday afternoon, so I suspect it will be Friday at the earliest that I can catch them. I do have some photos with other headgear I might put on my main blog Monday.
      Do consider a review.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    You always explain the scene in such clarity. Fun to see the perspective you bring to it.

    Here’s hoping you feel better soon. I’m with Patrick – post away!

  3. Tara Quan says:

    I hope you’re feeling better. Very interesting snippet as usual :). I love your world building.

  4. Gayle Ramage says:

    That last line is so true of today. In fact, you could say that about almost anything big companies try to sell us.

    Echoing everyone’s comments by saying I hope you’re feeling better, too. 🙂

  5. I hope you’re feeling alright today. One of my coworkers just finished with hers this past April and she’s back at work–such a trooper. As far as wigs, I do say go wild. Have a ball!

    As far as your snippet, wow, this area sounds so tightly controlled and monitored, as far as energy goes. But that’s where the money is, because it’s necessary.

Leave a Reply

