Jarn’s Journal Year 7 Day 295 #sffsat

SFF LogoFor more 10-sentence snippets from fantastic authors, click the logo above.

Year 7 Day 295

Gorrila, MorguefileI think I’ve found another relative of the People, though not nearly as R’il’nian-like as they are. This one is much more massive, and while it can rise and travel on two feet when it needs to carry something, it more often travels on feet and knuckles. It apparently lacks the ability of the People to form bonds with other species, and while a certain amount of communication among individuals certainly takes place, it is not nearly as good a communicator as are the People.

It certainly does not have anything like the People’s delight in adornment, nor does it appear to decorate itself.

Unlike the People, who seem to prefer savannah and forest edge habitats, these gorillas, as I am calling them, live in dense forest and even swamps. Neither Torch Flower nor Rhino seem to know what they are, but that may be because of their youth. I will ask the shamans when the People return.

Meanwhile, they are clearly not the same as the chimpanzees I found earlier. Not only are they much larger, but the gorillas are much more vegetarian than the chimpanzees, who hunt the smaller monkeys. It would be fascinating to uncover their evolutionary history, but it is clear that the People have evolved udenr this sun, and are not some lost branch of the R’il’nai.

Jarn’s Journal is part of the back story of the universe in which all of my science fiction is set. It is the journal of a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. He has met our ancestors, and to his dismay they are treating him as a god thanks to his esper abilities. His story to date is on my author site; a slightly longer version of this fragment is on my main blog.

And no I didn’t use the cue word because this was written and scheduled well in advance and I do NOT feel up to redoing more than a couple of words. Chemo is definitely hitting me this week.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 7 Day 295 #sffsat

  1. No matter – the snippet has the word ‘sun’ in it at either rate! 🙂 I didn’t know you were undergoing chemo – sorry to hear this Sue Ann! May you have strength!

    • For those not following me:
      I had a bout with breast cancer almost 5 years ago. Caught early, every evidence that the chemo then and radiation cleared up any lingering problem. Then I started having abdomenal problems at my 50th Harvard reunion a month and a half ago. Thought diabetes complication, went to see my doctor early June, and two days later I was making plane reservations for a flight to Anchorage for surgery–an ovarian cancer the size of a cantaloupe but almost all water. Surgeon (Dr. Hope) did a very good job; surgery and pathology says they got it all but 3 rounds chemo recommended as a precaution. Much harsher chemo than last time, and I was pretty sick Mon-Wed after chemo Friday. Today (2nd Sat) I’m feeling halfway human again. I need to get the August blogs written, so the earlier the better on the word to include!
      (P.s., I’m feeling well enough to get back to editing on the trilogy–book one almost done.)

  2. T. M. Hunter says:

    Great snippet, and as Laurel mentioned, your snippet had sun in it (I had to rush and add a word or two for mine to fit as well – hopefully next time, we’ll know the cue a week or so in advance…).

  3. tktoppin says:

    Like what Laurel and TM said, no matter…and it had sun in it. I had to scratch my head and add it in for mine. Hehe. And as always, great snippet. Hope everything goes well with you. 😀

  4. Although your snippet did have the cue word in it, it would not have mattered much to me. I still enjoyed reading it.

    I wish you well with your upcoming chemotherapy treatment. You will be in my thoughts this week.

  5. I find it very intriguing that Jarn has identified the gorillas and chimpanzees by their names. I suppose that makes the readers’ discovery instant and familiar.

  6. Starr O'Hara says:

    Don’t worry, I didn’t even include the cue word at all! I really enjoyed Jarn’s description of the gorillas, but his observation that “it apparently lacks the ability of the People to form bonds with other species…” made me think of Koko and her kitten!

    My thoughts are going out to you, Sue Ann. I hope you feel much better soon!

Leave a Reply

