Jarn’s Journal Year 7 Day 124 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

For snippets from more fantastic authors (and instructions for joining in with your own science fiction or fantasy snippet) click the logo above.

Year 7 Day 200

Rhino

I must confess my latest method of choosing acolytes has not been terribly successful. Torch Flower cooks after a fashion – well, better than I do. Certainly the food is edible, though not nearly as good as that Meerkat or even Gazelle prepared. But Torch Flower is clearly used to being the center of attention, and has much more on her mind than preparing my food. In fact, I would say she is doing her best to seduce me.

I don’t think Rhinocerous cares about her enough as a person to be greatly bothered. She was the girl all the young men wanted, so he had to have her. He’d object if she went to another man, but to a god? I would only enhance his self-importance.

At least he has learned to bring down small game with a sling or a thrown stone, so we have some change from fish.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. He has become a god (much to his annoyance) to a group of our ancestors. His Journal to date is on my author site; a longer version of this posting is on my main blog.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 7 Day 124 #SFFSat

  1. carycaffrey says:

    I always enjoy Jarn’s yarns. Every week you seem to give us an interesting glimpse into this group.

  2. T. M. Hunter says:

    Being seduced by the native girls…ah, the cross that Jarn must bear… 🙂
    Fun snippet.

  3. Rhinocerous needs to get a clue, or he’s going to lose Torch Flower to Jarn. Oh, the drama! 😉

  4. tktoppin says:

    Oh the drama indeed! Once again, another insightful snippet. Love the names!!

  5. S.A. Check says:

    You do always bring an extra twist into Jarn’s adventures. Sometimes just existing is adventure enough.

  6. Starr O'Hara says:

    Loneliness is the main feeling I associate with Jarn’s character. I kind of feel sorry for him!

  7. You know I always wondered how Jarn would handle a seduction attempt; now, I see he’d handle it with all the attention and detachment of anything else. I love his neutrality.

  8. Tara Quan says:

    I like how interest from a God would enhance Torch flower’s trophy status in Rhinocerous’ eyes. I guess it makes sense that he wouldn’t be jealous.

  9. nrgalloway24 says:

    I was so excited to see it was so excited to see it was a Jarn snippet. Jarn snippets never disappoint me. I love the name Torch Flower and you seem to be setting up for a tense and interesting character interaction in the week’s to come. I can’t wait to see what you write next week. Great snippet.

Leave a Reply

