Horse Power #sffsat

SFF Logo

Welcome to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, where a group of fantastic authors share 10-sentence snippets of their work each Saturday. Just click on the logo for the links to more snippets.

Horse Power coverUsually I post bits from Jarn’s Journal, a remote prequel to the universe in which I write most of my science fiction. The Journal was on my main blog as usual Friday, but today Horse Power is free on Amazon, so I’m posting a bit from it here, following Amber’s hearing the stampede a couple of weeks ago. Download the full story if you haven’t already, and consider letting me have a review.

The Batesons, whose land this was, were too poor to fence more than a fraction of their range, but they normally kept their stock herded closely, this near the road.  Where was the herder, Amber wondered even as she called back to Roi, “We’ve got to stop them before they cross the road!”

She spared a quick glance at the mirror mounted on her handlebars as she pedaled wildly downhill, and cursed as she saw Roi standing next to his bike at the crest of the hill.  Debating the ethics of getting involved, she thought furiously, and began waving her arms and screaming at the oncoming tide of silkies.

The leaders hardly slowed, but she suddenly realized that the rearmost animals were shaking their heads as if waking up, seeing the fresh greenery on either side of the trampled stampede path and turning toward it as if starved.  She could almost see the wave of hesitation working forward through the herd until it reached the leaders, who were only a few armspans away when they stopped to graze.  No running over the leaders, no piling up when they reached a barrier they could not cross, no broken legs or other injuries she could see.  Just a quietly grazing herd, and a frantically pedaling cyclist following the stampede track.  Twice the front wheel twisted and the cyclist fell, but each time the rider scrambled back onto the vehicle and continued the pursuit.

“A bicycle?” asked Roi, who had rejoined Amber so quietly she was not aware of his presence until he spoke.

That’s it for this week.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Horse Power #sffsat

  1. These short snippets can be so frustrating at times – now we have to wait a whole week to continue. Oh, wait! Good thing I have a copy of the whole thing. 😉

  2. I’m with Cary on this one. The snippet ended, and I wanted more. I’m glad I have a copy to finish. Thanks!

  3. tktoppin says:

    I always enjoy reading the way you give us descriptions…always so vivid. 😀

  4. S.A. Check says:

    Great descriptions and you’re always so detailed oriented. Never a question that you know what you’re writing about. I like the bicycle with the horses, nice fit.

  5. Starr O'Hara says:

    Great snippet. And I, too, am glad I have a copy to continue with. Though I already read it once, that was a few months ago.

  6. This snippet has such a great pace for action–moves very quickly. Fantastic details.

  7. nrgalloway24 says:

    You have a great talent for world building. I love your snippets, because I always feel like I’m a part of the story. Great snippet. And I agree with Cary Caffrey — I will be in stitches until next week.

  8. No more snippets until it’s free again.

Leave a Reply

