Excerpt from Horse Power (FREE today) #SFFSunday

SFF Logo

For more fantastic authors, click the logo above.

I don’t know what’s going on, but I’ve signed up and been here for the last couple of weeks. Maybe I’m setting the post to go live too late? I’m going to try 4 pm my time the previous day. Don’t expect me to to comment, though–I had surgery Friday. [added Saturday: surgery went well,but computer access is marginal. just try typing with an O2 sensor on!]

At any rate, this is a departure from my normal excerpt from Jarn’s Journal, though if you want to see what Jarn is up to he is still on my main blog. But Horse Power is free again today on Amazon, and so I’m posting a snippet from that. This is from near the beginning, when Roi and Amber are riding bicycles together from town to the ranch.

“What kind of business are you here on?” she finally asked, her curiosity becoming too strong to resist.

“Rumors have reached the Inner Council that the Horizon Company is illegally exploiting the colonists.  So of course it’s ‘send Roi to check it out.  He needs the experience.’  I’m the youngest on the Council, and they treat me like a nice little boy to be patted on the head and given simple errands to keep me busy.  I do need the experience, but they don’t have to be so damn condescending just because most of them are over a millennium old.”

Amber started to reply, then strained her ears as a sound other than the wind and the sound of their own tires on the dirt road reached her.  Yes, it was the yodeling bleat of silkies, the sound they made when upset and running, with the pounding of hooves becoming more audible as she slowed to a halt.

“What’s up?” Roi asked.

“Can you get us up to the top of the hill ahead, fast?”

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Excerpt from Horse Power (FREE today) #SFFSunday

  1. Tara Quan says:

    A possible stampede. That’s not good. Great scene setter–I really like the world you’re creating

  2. Fast, indeed! Lots going on in this scene. I do hope they get out of the way.

  3. T. M. Hunter says:

    Reminds me of my early days on the job, when I’d get sent out for all the work no one else wanted to do…fun little snippet, and hope they survive long enough to report back.

  4. tktoppin says:

    Oh, I remember this scene from the book. Exciting! Wishing you the best during your recovery. 🙂

  5. Ryan Attard says:

    Hehe. Love the rant. Get well soon.

  6. S.A. Check says:

    I like the offset of the colonists exploitation and Inner Council configuration with the task at hand. Yodeling bleat of silkies – great description.

  7. We get a great feel for the world here, and that last line sends chills.

  8. jccassels says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Nice world-building. I love your descriptions from the “pat on the head” to the “yodeling bleat of silkies” all quite brilliant.

Leave a Reply

