Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 193 #SFFSaturday

SFF LogoFor more fantastic snippets, click on the logo above.

Year 6 Day 193

Snow!  How have I missed this?

Kilimanjaro, MorguefileOf course it’s high—very high. I can’t stay this high long without altitude sickness. But it’s the first snow I’ve seen in years.

I decided to map more of the landmarks in the interior of the continent. I find flying is easier the more I do it, so I started by teleporting to the equatorial east coast and flying west, pausing to use the stars to get coordinates whenever I saw a place I thought I might want to visit again.  It took remarkably little time to spot a snow-covered mountain.

I was night flying, to avoid the heat, but I won’t need to worry about that on this mountain!

I think I will go back in daylight and see if this snow, like the rare snowfalls we had when I was a child, will pack into snowballs.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. He has connected with a group of our primitive ancestors, and is slowly exploring the continent. He has very little technology salvaged, aside from a computer, but he is capable of teleportation, levitation, and other esper talents. A longer version of this post is on my main blog;  the entire Journal to day is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 193 #SFFSaturday

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    Hopefully he has super-awesome nighttime vision, if he’s flying at night (especially around mountains). Great snippet.

  2. Sounds like fun. I’d go snowball hunting too. Probably make some of my famous snow men.

  3. tktoppin says:

    Considering I’ve only ever seen snow until a couple years ago…I can attest with Jarn’s feelings! It’s such an amazing sight!! Once again, love the detail and imagery you put into your snippets.

  4. jccassels says:

    Ooh! Snowball fight! How much fun is that?

  5. S.A. Check says:

    Reading about Jarn making snowballs is a nice touch and adds a new layer for me to his character.

  6. Tara Quan says:

    I can totally relate to his excitement. I hope he builds an awesome snowman!

  7. amergina says:

    I really like that he’s thinking about snowballs. It humanizes him…even if he isn’t human. 🙂

  8. Just the idea, that! Snowballs are cool (excuse the pun)! 😀

Leave a Reply

