Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 85 #SFFSat

SFF LogoClick on the logo above for more snippets from the fantastic authors at Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

Year 6 Day 85

Well, they’ve left.

MorguefileI keep telling myself not to become attached to individuals of the People, because they age quickly and will die all too soon. On that basis, it is a very good thing that Songbird, Giraffe and WildDog will not be staying with me this year.

I will miss them.

I will even miss Meerkat, who has finally realized I have no interest in her as a mate, and set out, very much behind my back, to seduce Lion, who lost his mate to a fever last year. I hope Lion knows what he is in for!

Not that Gazelle, the mate of Little Gnu, is not a good cook and clothing maker, or that her daughter does not remind me of Songbird as I first knew her. Gazelle has also taken to the fish traps, and we eat well even without a hunter.

Little Gnu has turned out to be remarkably adept at knapping stone.  I think I may learn more about stone tools than I had intended.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. His story is part of the back story of the Jarnian Confederation, where my published books are set. For a longer version of this post, see my main blog. The entire Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 85 #SFFSat

  1. The previous group moves on (for now), and Jarn associates with another group of natives. Who knows? He may find those stone tools quite useful.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    Lives change but Jarn remains a constant to them. It’s interesting to watch how his role changes as their lives move on and we, as readers, filter our perspective through Jarn’s. As always, great stuff.

  3. This is a great companion piece to your story, for sure. And it’s always wise to learn from a broad group of folk.

  4. jccassels says:

    I always look forward to Jarn’s snippets. It never ceases to amaze me how well you convey his loneliness with so few words.

  5. You know, I never considered that Jarn doesn’t have any love interests here. I wonder if he misses that kind of companionship? He doesn’t seem to. As usual, great look into Jarn’s life with the people.

  6. A very sad, poignant snippet. One really feels for Jarn, even as he’s amongst people.

  7. amergina says:

    I feel for Jarn. It must be very hard to be surrounded by people, but so alone and know that attachment will only bring heartache. Great snippet, as always!

  8. Tara Quan says:

    Awww…but he seems rather attached to them already . Hopefully he won’t be too lonely. Great snippet!

  9. I love the emotion you’re putting into this. Great job

Leave a Reply

