Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 46 Evening #STTSaturday

SFF Logo

Welcome to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, a blog hop of snippets from a group of talented authors. Click on the logo above to find the linky list.

Year 6 Day 46 evening

Hyenas, MorguefileI am not a Healer, though there are times I have wished I were. Today was definitely one of those days.

I knew it would take Songbird a while to reach the hunters, so I intercepted the runner and had him tell me what he could about Little Gnu’s injuries – which wasn’t much. The runner was the youngest of the hunters, and from his description, Little Gnu (named for his shortness of stature, not his age) had been tossed in such a way that he had landed with his leg doubled under him, and the bone was sticking out. No telling what kind of internal injuries he had sustained, and at his age, he couldn’t be expected to recover as fast and as thoroughly as Songbird had. All I could do in preparation was check everything available in the computer about compound fractures, find several suitable splints and bandages, and pull together the handful of remedies I had been able to make with the computer’s help. These, thank goodness, included a wound dressing that minimized infection.

I stayed open for Songbird while I wrapped all of the things I thought I would need, including an extra warnoff, in one of the hides Meerkat had tanned for me. Meerkat herself had deputized one of the other women to watch WildDog, and was making up a pallet for the injured man in her dwelling.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. His story is part of the remote back story of the Jarnian Confederation, the backdrop to my science fiction novels. A longer version of this post can be found on my main blog; last week’s (since I somehow missed getting on the list) is also here. The Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 46 Evening #STTSaturday

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    Ouchie! Makes me wince just hearing about that injury!

  2. Geehyah! Compound fractures… Now I’m going to be queasy all day! Perhaps one day I’ll tell you of my near (leg) amputation just to get even.

    Owie!

    • Elephants are dangerous, especially a young bull in his first musth (Which was the case here.) They weren’t normally on the menu for the People, but they had to defend themselves when this one attacked.

  3. Pingback: Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 46 Evening #STTSaturday | Todd DeanTodd Dean

  4. Ooh! Just reading the description of the injury makes me cringe. I hope Jarn can help Little Gnu out.

  5. S.C. Wade says:

    What an injury…*shudder*

  6. You’ve got to like Jarn. So meticulous and empathetic. A good character.

  7. amergina says:

    Ow. That’s quite an injury. But as you say, the evidence is that our ancestors survived such things. I think we often underestimate the people of the past.

  8. Tara Quan says:

    He definitely sounds like a healer to me. How sweet of Jarn. Little Gnu is very lucky.

    • A Healer (capital H) actually Heals with the power of his mind. There’s quite a bit about Healing in Homecoming. Even among the R’il’nians this is a rare ability. But Jarn, stranded as he is, has learned all he can about more conventional healing.

Leave a Reply

