Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 46 #sffsat

SFF Logo

Year 6 Day 46

Elephant, MorguefileI sat at the entry to my home, and watched Songbird, Giraffe and WildDog happily interacting with their friends. To their left, Rain Cloud was toiling up the hill toward me, and I waved and gestured him closer. He paused once, looking where I was looking, and then frowned and continued up the hill.

“They do not show you proper honor,” he said, but I shook my head.

“They have missed their friends, and WildDog needs to play with others his age,” I replied. “They have aided me well. But it is not fair that I take all of their time. I think that perhaps I should make a rule that no one with a child should stay with me more than the time from one Gather to another.

His brow creased. “But surely we must find a way to honor you!”

For a continuation (necessary if you want to make sense of next week) see my main blog. Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. The Journal so far is on my author site. To enjoy snipets from other writers of science fiction and fantasy at Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, click on the logo above.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 6 Day 46 #sffsat

  1. To honor or not to honor. I wonder how Jarn will respond to that. Can’t wait until next week’s snippet!

    Speaking of which, I almost missed this week’s. Glad I checked.

  2. I could have sworn I signed up, but I wasn’t listed. Actually, they got interrupted at that point, but I couldn’t get it into the 10 sentences so it’s just on my main blog.

  3. I think it’s very interesting that this character is so concerned with honoring Jarn. Is it due to how helpful Jarn has been, or because he’s seen as some sort of deity? Or a combo of both? Very intriguing conversation.

  4. amergina says:

    A deity should be able to say how he wishes to be honored, one would think…

Leave a Reply

