Jarn’s Journal Year 5, Day 271 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

Year 5, Day 271

honeycomb, morguefileLittle WildDog is still getting almost all of his nourishment from his mother’s milk though he does have teeth, as my fingers can attest! I am not sure why, as he certainly cannot chew anything, and they merely make nursing him uncomfortable for Songbird. She is beginning to chew food and then give it to him, and it occurred to me that it has been a long time since I brought sweet fruits to my helpers. So I teleported to the sites of several palms that have had sweet fruit in the past, and brought dates for Songbird to give WildDog. I also teleported a bit of honeycomb from a wild bees’ nest – from a healthy distance!

I had a hard time not laughing at the results. WildDog screwed his face up and prepared to cry at the strange taste in his mouth, as he usually does when Songbird gives him something new. Then his eyes went wide and he blinked a time or two, working his mouth. The final stage was a beatific smile, and a mouth eagerly opened for more. “That’s a special birthday treat,” I told him firmly.

Jarn’s Journal is a bit of the back story of the Jarnian Confederation, where most of my science fiction is based. It is the journal of a human-like alien with esper abilities, Jarn, who was stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. For a longer version of this post see my main blog; for the entire Journal to date see my author site.

By the way, I am participating in the A to Z Challenge this year on my main blog, with posts live just after midnight about the characters and some of the world-building in my books. I’m letting the characters speak for themselves, though I try to tell when they’re speaking from.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5, Day 271 #SFFSat

  1. Great! Now, the kid is addicted to sweets!

  2. Nothing wrong with spoiling him a time or two – sweet snippet 🙂

  3. I guess that honey didn’t come with a warning like mine does: “Don’t feed honey to children under two years old.” I’ve always been skeptical of that warning. Anyway, great snippet! It’s got me reading Jarn’s Journal now. Very interesting stuff!

  4. tktoppin says:

    Haha! Great snippet. I can’t remember the last time a chewed on a honeycomb. Mmm. Now I want one.

  5. S.A. Check says:

    Nice, simple scene that really displays the relationship of Jarn to these people. The world through a babe’s eye is always heartwarming through something so simple as a taste of honey. Great snippet!

  6. I love how Jarn describes the day to day occurrences. They’re all so mundane, but seen in a way that is so appreciative. He’s got a fantastic tone.

  7. This continues to fascinate me. I don’t have that scientist personality…too impatient! But Jarn so carefully notes everything and experiments. 🙂

  8. Jarn has a highly technical background, but he has some things to learn.

  9. amergina says:

    It’s a good thing chocolate doesn’t exist yet!
    And honeycomb is good. How nice of Jarn. I wonder who will be wrapped around whom’s finger first…Jarn or WildDog?

  10. Tara Quan says:

    Sounds yummy.

    This snippet says a lot about Jarn’s character. He seems really nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

