Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 112

SFF Logo

Year 5 Day 112

Chimp, MorguefileThe coast has been running east for some time, though I am still far north of my initial landing site, and north of the equator. Its character has changed completely, from sand waves to a riot of green. It’s lucky I can levitate, as I have some real doubts as to whether I could penetrate this much vegetation on foot. I have caught glimpses of animals that have some remote resemblance to the people, and marked their location on the map I’m making. But I’m getting eager to finish the outline of this continent.

The coast must turn southward ahead somewhere, and meanwhile I can only observe a coast covered with trees. No doubt some are edible, and others are medicinal. But which? I have been taking samples back to Songbird and Meerkat, but with few exceptions, they can only say that these plants are unfamiliar.

I’m having better luck with the fruit, especially those varieties that the local animals obviously relish.

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a fictional alien who was stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He had befriended (and been accepted as a god, much to his annoyance) a group of primitive humans. While most are nomadic, three have appointed themselves as his acolytes and are staying near the shelter he has built himself near the spot where  the family groups come together shortly after the northward equinox. The Journal to date is on my author site; a longer version of this post may be found on my main blog.

Next week will be a break from Jarn: Horse Power will be free again next weekend and I’ll post a snippet from it. For this week, be sure and click on the logo above to find the other authors who have posted snippets from their science fiction and fantasy writing on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 112

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    When in doubt, I’d leave the fruits and other edibles alone. 🙂
    Great snippet as always!

  2. Horse Power’s next on the reading stack (can one really stack eBooks?). Looking forward to it.

  3. tktoppin says:

    I’m with TM. When in doubt, don’t eat it. 😀 Great post as usual.

  4. amergina says:

    Well, watching what the more human-like animals eat will probably help. Jarn’ll figure it out. 🙂
    Everyone loves fruit.

  5. Tara Quan says:

    Good point–if animals can eat the fruit, then he should be able to as well (assuming similar physiology).

  6. S.C. Wade says:

    I really do find Jarn’s voice engaging. It’s fun to hear his experiences…and reactions, lol.

  7. I’m with Jarn on this one. Watch what the others eat before trying it yourself. Good snippet!

Leave a Reply

