Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 92 #sffsat

SFF Logo

Year 5, Day 92

Ice, MorguefileWildDog is teething. So am I.

His mouth probably hurts more – I’m merely replacing a worn-out molar which is just about ready to fall out. There’s not much actual cutting involved, though the loosened tooth is a problem, and my bite will be uneven for some time. His tooth, an incisor, is working its way through the gum, and from the crying he is doing, it hurts.

I took Giraffe aside and explained what was happening, and he seemed considerably relieved to know it was normal and not a sign that his son was becoming a weakling or a coward. I also levitated – carefully – into the anvil of a thunderhead and collected a grass basket of ice crystals.

They use hides rather than woven stuffs for the most part, but WildDog seems quite content to chew on a thin piece of hide wrapped around a handful of ice crystals. I can even store the crystals, as I do frozen meat. Come to think of it, I could actually make ice with the heat pump.

This snippet is part of the background of my science fiction universe, the universe of Homecoming, Tourist Trap and Horse Power. For a longer version of this week’s snippet, see my main blog; for the whole of Jarn’s Journal to date, see my author site.

To find other authors posting snippets today, go to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 92 #sffsat

  1. Your opening lines are both engaging and humorous. Great start to this excerpt. It was interesting to hear how Jarn dealt with the teething toddler. And that he related. 🙂

  2. jccassels says:

    I enjoy the creative ways Jarn solves the every day problems. I can also sympathize with the teething baby. 🙂

    • I don’t think I’d call this creative. He knew ice would make his own mouth feel better, and he knew the cloud anvils were ice. I suspect Songbird came up with the idea of wrapping the ice in leather.

  3. tktoppin says:

    I wish I could replace teeth like Jarn. What a handy thing to be able to do. Great snippet as always!!

    • I had to figure out some way that a non-aging species could have teeth–they do wear, from friction. Hypsodont teeth (like a horse’s) don’t last indefinitely–my own old horse reached the point where there were no teeth left to float. So I had to assume Jarn’s teeth were more like a shark’s, at least as far as constant replacement was concerned. He has tooth stem cells in his jaw.

  4. S.A. Check says:

    I like how you have them both going through a dental crisis to show the differences and similarities between them. Interesting and creative way to do it.

  5. Nice thinking on Jarn’s part to take advantage of the clouds. Most authors, let alone the natives in your story, wouldn’t think of that.

  6. S.C. Wade says:

    I enjoyed the subtle lines of humor weaved into this!

  7. amergina says:

    A heat pump would be an awesome thing to have back then! I do like the way he uses his talents to help others.

  8. Tara Quan says:

    Survivor Man meets Sci/Fi–you meld the two beautifully, as always.

  9. Peter Vialls says:

    As always, a nicely drawn sequence. I also was impressed by the cloud ice – your physics background pays off handsomely!

Leave a Reply

