Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 50 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

It’s time for Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday. To find other great authors posting snippets from their work (no more that ten sentences each) click on the logo above.

Jarn’s Journal is the journal of a human-like alien, Jarn, who was stranded on Earth roughly 125,000 years ago. He has contacted a group of our ancestors, and at this point he has been in Africa for almost five years. A longer version of this post is on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author site. And if you’d like a summary of why Jarn is an important part of the back story of my science fiction, have a look at this posting from the World Building Blogfest. Warning: major spoilers!

Year 5 Day 50

Fire, MorguefileHow do I get myself into these things? At least Rain Cloud agreed to stand with me!

I vouched that WildDog is Songbird’s child. (And Giraffe’s, though I am determined not to say anything that will puff him up any more than does being guardian to such a fine boy.) But Songbird still regards Rain Cloud as her shaman, and herself as a part of Rain Cloud’s group. So Rain Cloud accepted WildDog as a part of his clan, and I vouched that he was born into that group. And we both held him aloft between us for the recognition by the whole group. I hope that as he grows older he will not be treated differently because I took a part in his Naming.

I counted fifteen other children being Named, rarely more than one to a group. Rain Cloud’s group counted two including WildDog, and one other group also had two.

Could I ask for reviews from anyone who has read any of my books, especially Horse Power? My Amazon and Barnes and Noble pages look awfully bare.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 50 #SFFSat

  1. It’s so sweet that he’s concerned his part in the Naming may have a negative influence.

  2. tktoppin says:

    I’m with Chantal. Like being named with a really silly name, or being born to someone with a bad reputation. Love it.

  3. S.A. Check says:

    I had to chart out the family tree / dynamic on that one. The culture clash between Jarn and these groups is entertaining, as always. Great Snippet.

  4. I really like the fact that Jarn remains humble throughout his experiences with the natives.

  5. Jarn comes off as such a caring individual in this snippet. Very nice.

    🙂 Heidi

  6. Peter Vialls says:

    I agree with the comments above. He comes across as being just as human as the people he is supposedly studying. He may well be getting far too involved…

  7. amergina says:

    I really like Jarn. He’s very concerned about the humans he’s been traveling with. It’s been interesting to walk this journey with him.

  8. gayleramage says:

    There is that fear that WildDog will be treated differently because of Jarn’s/a God’s involvement. But would the treatment be positive or negative, that’s the question.

Leave a Reply

