Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 24 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

Year 5 Day 24

feathers, MorguefileYou’d think that by now I’d know that I haven’t a shred of artistic sense in my body. No, I had to try to decorate myself. Giraffe and Meerkat are too much in awe of me to laugh in my face, but Songbird could not suppress her giggles.

“Fine,” I said. “You decorate me. But I absolutely am not going to wear that mask and leopard skin!”

She fingered my skin, covered with splotches of the red-purple dye. “Can you get that off?”

Rather sullenly I felt out the structure of the dye and teleported it away. It took me a while – I’m not exactly expert in that kind of work – and while I was working at the problem, Songbird was drawing with a stick on a patch of dirt.

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a fictional alien stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago, during the penultimate interglacial. He has become a god to the primitive humans he has found there (much to his annoyance) and is now living near their annual gather site. A longer version of this post is on my main blog; the Journal to date is on my author site. Jarn’s Journal is part of the back story of the universe of the Jarnian Confederation, in which my novels Homecoming and Tourist Trap are set, as is the short story, “Horse Power.”

Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is a circle of authors who each post up to 10 sentences of their writing at any stage on their blog. Click on the logo to get the list for this week.

P. S. If you downloaded Horse Power, I’d really appreciate a review.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 24 #SFFSat

  1. Ha Jarn is sullen – nice trick with the teleporting though 🙂

  2. Peter Vialls says:

    Nice contrast – all his sophisticated technology, but he can’t match Songbird’s creativity.

  3. T. M. Hunter says:

    Great snippet…when getting decorated, it’s best to leave it to the professionals. 😉

  4. S.A. Check says:

    Love the actual interaction here and flickers of Jarn’s personality with some dialogue. He’s not going to wear the leopard mask but at the same time he allows them to decorate him. Cool contrast to teleporting colors and drawing with a stick in the dirt.

  5. jccassels says:

    Songbird has got to love having some edge over Jarn.

  6. tktoppin says:

    Haha! This made me laugh. Gotta love Jarn.

  7. amergina says:

    But leopard skin is so in this season! 🙂
    Seriously, I love the exchange here and the trick with teleportation of the dye.

  8. Tara Quan says:

    I like their interaction. She’s honest with him and he lets her decorate him within reason. Sounds like they’re very good friends.

  9. carycaffrey says:

    Very nice interaction/moment. Always tricker in journal-formats. Well done!

Leave a Reply

