Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 20

SFF Logo

Year 5 Day 20

Lake Malawi, NASA imageThe shape of the continent I’m on is interesting, but I have time – altogether too much of it, to be honest – and it seems just as reasonable to study the area around the gather lake. Besides, I might spot some of the People coming to the gather. So that’s what I’ve been doing the last few days, and I’ve spotted three groups coming in. I think one is Lion’s, though I was not sure of the other two.

It’s a long lake, oriented north and south, with uplands on either side. Some of them look volcanic, and I suspect the lake is part of a rift valley. It’s quite a distance northeast of my initial landing site, and even of the waterfall that first allowed me to use its energy to counterbalance levitation. The distance these people cover in their migrations is astonishing.

Today I found a fourth group – Rain Cloud’s. They saw me flying, and started waving and jumping in excitement.

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a fictional human-like alien, Jarn. He was stranded on Africa 125,000 years ago when the starship he designed proved to be lacking a few standard safety features. A longer version of this post can be found on my main blog; the journal to date is on my author site. Jarn’s story is part of the remote background of my science fiction universe, the Jarnian Confederation.

This post is part of Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday. To see the other participants, click on the logo at the top of the page or on the link above.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 20

  1. S.A. Check says:

    I continue to admire the distant watcher quality of Jarn and the qualities he’s drawn to in the slice of humanity he’s observing and what they do to survive, like migrating. It’s that outside perspective that sometimes reveals things we normally wouldn’t in ourselves. Great snippet.

  2. Ahhh they were pleased to see him – sweet 🙂 Nice snippet.

  3. I love how you show us a map to go with the snippets–it really helps me get into the geography of the scene.

    Nice job, Sue Ann!

    🙂 Heidi

  4. Peter Vialls says:

    Jarn may apparently be a dispassionate observer, but his warmth and his respect for the People despite their primitive nature comes across strongly. Good snippet.

  5. Cary Caffrey says:

    This continues to be a fascinating journey. I’ve always had a huge interest in history – especially anything dating back beyond five thousand years ago. Bravo for imagining a world existing 125k years before us!

    • At that time distance it’s based more on anthropology than archaeology. There’s no question we all share a common ancestral group in that time period, and beyond that I’m extrapolating things that would not be preserved, but seem common to their descendants.

  6. Tara Quan says:

    You paint an interesting picture of Africa 125,000 years ago. So much activity going in. I like how he names the human groups too.

  7. He seems to maintain this careful appreciation of The People. His detached reports are so interesting to read, especially when those emotions come through.

  8. amergina says:

    I’m just as fascinated as he is by The People. Very nice snippet! (and sorry I’m so late in commenting)

  9. In a way, I’m envious of Jarn – being able to observe all this back then. Nice snippet.

  10. jccassels says:

    Had they ever seen him flying before?

Leave a Reply

