Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 2 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

Welcome to Jarn’s world, at least it usually is. Who’s Jarn? He’s an alien, a R’il’nian, who wasn’t as good a starship designer as he thought. He crash-landed on Earth 125,000 years ago, managed to fly his escape capsule to Africa, and has been living there for almost 5 years. He was pretty lonely at first, but now he’s made alliance with primitive nomadic humans and is looking forward to their return.

Usually is? Next week I’ll be taking a break from Jarn’s story to post an excerpt from the story I just uploaded to Kindle Direct, Horse Power. I’m going to put two of my free days next weekend, so I hope you take advantage of them, but it’s only 99 cents if you miss the window.

Year 5 Day 2

sand dnes, MorguefileStill the coast runs eastward, though now south as well. At least the rain has been left behind, though there is now no vegetation. Did I think I was following a desert shore before? I had no idea that such a large area as that now to my east could be so barren!  Sand, mostly, varied by a few rocks and distant hills. When the wind blows, it whips up sand and dust, carrying the dust far over the ocean, and I can no more fly than I could in a thunderstorm. When I can see anything, it is clear that the sand itself is piled into huge waves by the wind. Some days I can feel the sand blowing as I prepare to teleport to the coast, and just don’t bother.

The People should be returning soon, if I am right in thinking they arrive not too long after the northward equinox, what I have taken as the start of the year. Songbird is preparing for her baby’s recognition by the group.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is a blog hop where each of several authors post up to ten sentences from their work. You can click the link or the logo above to find this week’s list. A longer version of this post can be found on my main blog, and Jarn’s Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 5 Day 2 #SFFSat

  1. Jarn sounds lonely! Nice snippet 🙂

  2. I hate when sandstorms interfere with my flying! My snippet in over on my website as usual. I have to stop forgetting to add my name to the list.

  3. T. M. Hunter says:

    Ack! Did I miss the introduction of the baby?

  4. S.A. Check says:

    I like all the setup with the barren landscape and then introducing the baby at end. Unexpected and interesting.

  5. carycaffrey says:

    Always a pleasure. I was going to jump on your ‘free day,’ but then I had to slap myself. 99 cents! What a bargain. Of course I’ll go grab a copy now.

  6. As usual, there are beautiful details here set in such an observatory tone. I wonder how the baby’s recognition will go? I wonder if Jarn is nervous.

  7. amergina says:

    Nice snippet. Lovely descriptions, as always. Jarn sounds like he’ll be happy to see the People again.
    Out of curiosity, how similar was the climate of Africa 125,000 years ago?

  8. Tara Quan says:

    Great imagery, just like the last one I read!

  9. Jarn needs to learn to speak baby. Seriously, though, babies can provide so many interesting anthropological insights.

  10. tktoppin says:

    Once again, your imagery is amazing. Good stuff as always!

  11. pippajay says:

    Like his quiet fascination with this odd (to him) world.

  12. It always feels like I’m right there when reading these snippets.

    Good luck with Horse Power. 🙂

Leave a Reply

