Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 330 #SFFSat

SFF LogoAs a general rule, I link the SFF Saturday page directly to the day’s post. This time I’ve linked to the whole blog so you can easily catch up on those snippets you missed during the break.

Year 4, Day 330

The tideless sea does connect with the tidal sea to the west, though the connection is much farther west than I expected.

GibralterI’ve not been getting as far on my mapping as I was; there are too many thunderstorms. In general it’s not too bad in the morning, but as soon as I approach a storm, I head home. As a result, I don’t get very far on any given day.

Yesterday, however, I began seeing another landmass, very faint, to the north. The coast I was following bent north to meet it, and I feared I had come to the end of what might be only a colossal salt lake. But today I continued and found a relatively narrow strait between the coast I have been following and the one approaching from the north that leads to a slightly fresher sea with a much higher and longer swell. I cannot be absolutely sure this is the global ocean, but I went far enough to be sure it is quite large, somewhat less salty than the tideless sea, and that the current through the strait is primarily the pouring of the slightly fresher water into the sea I have been following. The climate along the shore has been suggesting for some time that more water is evaporating than is falling on the sea or running into it, so it makes sense that the water must be replenished somehow.

A longer version of this post is at my main blog; Jarn’s Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 330 #SFFSat

  1. jccassels says:

    How much of this world will Jarn explore?

  2. tktoppin says:

    Storms…they always mug things up, don’t they. Good stuff as usual!

  3. Tara Quan says:

    Nice world-building. Thanks for sharing!

  4. My OCD little brain always loves trying to pin-point the exact location on the map that Jarn is discussing.

  5. Ryan says:

    Wow. Some first class descriptions right there. Love the world building

  6. He’s both nonsensical and diligent with his task. His success is easy to root for.

  7. carycaffrey says:

    Yes, thanks for the photo! As Cassandra says, we OCD’ers definitely have to figure these locations out.

  8. Cartography aided by teleportation…very cool.

    🙂 Heidi

  9. amergina says:

    Great descriptions in this weeks snippet! I guess things are getting back on track (or so it seems…)

Leave a Reply

