Jarn’s Journal Year 4, Day 295 #sffsat

SFF Logo

Jarn’s Journal is the prehistory of my Confederation novels. Jarn is an alien, a R’il’nian, very similar to a human but with esper abilities. He was stranded in the Africa of 125,000 years ago, and has made contact with a group of early humans. At the moment he is trying to map the coastline of Africa, and has gotten about as far as modern Algiers. There is a slightly longer version on my main blog, and the entire Journal to date is being added to on my author site as it is written.

Year 4, Day 295

ThunderstormNote to myself: never fly in a thunderstorm without setting up the parameters for an emergency teleport!

In fact, never fly in a thunderstorm, period. And check the weather at the spot you’re aiming for in a teleport!

I knew I was getting far enough north that I was getting into the fringe of the winter rain belt, but between sand and dead grass I hadn’t paid much attention. I followed the coast northward until it turned back toward the west, noting only vaguely that the shoreline was steadily getting not only more mountainous, but greener. The coastlines I’ve been passing must have owed part of their condition to drought, because when I aimed a teleport at where I’d been the day before, over the coast but far enough in the air to have a good view, I landed smack in the middle of a violent updraft, surrounded by roiling clouds and lightning.

Lucky for me that it was an updraft! If I had arrived in a rain shaft, I would have been smashed into the ground before I had time to react. As it was, I spent several minutes frantically deflecting lightning and keeping myself aloft, too busy even to notice that I was soaked through. Then I was suddenly being pelted by hail.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is a blog hop with snippets from a number of authors, but the blog hop is taking a break over the holidays. It should be back in operation January 2013.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

