Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 282 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

Year 4, Day 282

Desert oasisBack to mapping, and to tell the truth I’m getting a little bored. On my right is water. On my left is sand. Now and then the sand is broken by trees and even a bit of grass growing where ground water reaches the roots, or by rocks. There are mountains visible occasionally, which I presume are the source of the ground water, but it is not a very inviting place for hunters.

Giraffe is still planning how to teach his son to hunt, but we are both increasingly frustrated by Meerkat’s insistence that it would be very bad luck for Songbird to come out of the birthing hut, or for a male to enter, until the day of the new moon. How they manage if they are traveling when a child is born is beyond me, and I suspect Meerkat is taking advantage of the fact that neither Giraffe nor I have been near a birthing woman before. It should be only a few more days; the moon is a late waning crescent.

I shall have to make it very clear to Patches that the baby is to be guarded, not treated as prey. She is certainly capable of learning to regard the little one as her own cub, just as she accepts Giraffe and me as her packmates.

Welcome to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, where a group of authors share up to 10 sentences of the work each Saturday. Click on the name or the logo to find the other participating authors.

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a fiction human-like alien stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. Right now he’s trying to map the Mediterranean coast, while somewhat annoyed that the human he rescued as a child is being forced to stay in a hut until the new moon. For a longer version of this post, see my main blog. For all of Jarn’s Journal to date, see my author website.  Although Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is taking a break over the Christmas holidays, I will be continuing to post the long version of Jarn’s Journal on my main blog on Fridays, so unless you follow that, you may find quite a break when you come back.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 282 #SFFSat

  1. Sounds like a very trying time!

  2. Peter Vialls says:

    Jarn is getting very wound up at the strictures of ancient “magic”. Nice snippet!

  3. What an intriguing snippets. Are these animals or humans with animal names? Or human animal hybrids? What fun! My snippet is on my blog, but alas I forgot to add it to the list.

  4. jccassels says:

    Awww… the thought of Patches guarding the baby reminded me of my pit bull when I had my babies. She’s a big, mean, scary looking thing, but she ADORES babies. When I was expecting my third, I pulled out the bassinet to measure it for a skirt and as soon as I did, she got very excited, sniffing around it, looking for the baby. The cutest part was when she raised up on her back legs — ever-so-gently — so she could peek into the bassinet without putting her paws up on the side.

    Totally off-topic, but thank you!

    • I had a few pit bulls as students back when I was teaching dog training. My conclusion about the breed? They do not respond to corrections; I’m not sure they even feel them. (They’ve been bred for body insensitivity.) But they respond very well to positive reinforcement. Very trainable with praise. Of course Patches is not a domesticated wolf (as are our dogs) but an African wild dog, rescued as a puppy and “trained” by Jarn’s mind control.

      • jccassels says:

        No, they seem to have a very high tolerance for pain and a very biddable disposition. Mine was easily trained and very sweet-natured. I had a feral dog once. Very bright and easily trained, but unpredictable.

  5. amergina says:

    Poor Jarn. He just wants to get a move on. Once again, another interesting snippet!

    I failed to sign up, but I do need some time to work on the words, so I’ll be back next week.

  6. Love the picture, too. 🙂

  7. You can tell that Jarn is becoming frustrated, but despite that he maintains an order and calmness that is nearly clinical. Great snippet.

  8. An imminent birth…what anticipation!

    🙂 Heidi

Leave a Reply

