Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 272 #SFFSat

SFF Logo

Year 4 Day 272

Giraffe--MorguefileI have to start thinking straight, instead of letting my feelings run away with me. Is not the first rule never to interfere with a sentient species? But I have ignored that rule so often that I cannot now stop disobeying it without causing further harm.

The fact remains that these People are not R’il’nians. They grow old. They die. A hundred years from now I will be much the same, but not one of them will be alive. Not Songbird, not her newborn son, probably not even his grandchildren.

I should learn to think of them as animals, aging as they do, knowing they will come in and out of my life.

I cannot.

Welcome to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday. This is an excerpt from Jarn’s Journal, the fictional journal of a fictional alien stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. The early human child he rescued, Songbird, has just had her own first child, and Jarn is feeling very shamed of himself for being so emotional about the birth. A slightly longer version is on my main blog, and the Journal to date is on my author web site.

SFFSaturday is a blog hop, and you can find the other participants by clicking on the logo above.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 272 #SFFSat

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    That’s definitely true about interfering so many times. I wonder how Jarn’s people treat animals…hopefully well.

  2. S.A. Check says:

    Great snippet! I love the turmoil Jarn is going through. I hate it when somebody gets their emotion in my logic. Humans – what a pain in the butt. Really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Peter Vialls says:

    I really liked this snippet. Jarn is torn between his culture’s strictures and his own humanity (or the alien equivalent thereof). The turmoil in his mind comes across really well – that final two word sentence really works superbly.

  4. I know that Jarn would not be considered wise by his people, but he’s wise to me. He just doesn’t know that to value life, to understand that it is different and can/should be treated differently accordingly–that is wisdom. His conflict is endearing. Your last line is excellent.

  5. One of the many drawbacks to being virtually immortal…or at least having a longer lifespan than those around you. I see why he thinks the way he does regarding this.

    • This is one of the problems that comes up again and again in my fiction. Roi in Homecoming and Tourist Trap is too young to really feel the difference, but the R’il’nian and R’il’noid adults around him are very aware of it.

  6. Love how Jarn’s lifespan adds to his conflict and wonder if he can ever find peace.

  7. amergina says:

    Ah, the problem of the very long lived meeting a short lived, but intelligent species.
    It must be very hard for him, as he knows he’s forming attachments.

    • It’s a problem that is behind all of my fiction set in the Jarnian Confederation, though in Homecoming and Tourist Trap my protagonist is too young to recognize emotionally that he will not age but his friends will.

Leave a Reply

