Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 271, Sunset #SFFSat

Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is a blog ring of authors who post snippets of their work each Saturday. (Friday night for me, since I live so far west.) You can get to it by clicking the logo above or just clicking the link. We all love visitors and comments.

Year 4 Day 271, Sunset

There must be something I can do! The screams are driving me mad, and the terrible pain and pressure will not relent. Not to mention the anxiety, which I think is coming from both Giraffe, who has been increasingly worried all afternoon, and now from Meerkat as well.

The screams are growing weaker.

Meerkat is shouting, “Push! Push!”

I’m going into the hut, no matter what Meerkat says!

Later

I didn’t quite make it to the hut when there was a feeling of breaking through, followed by a new sound, a high squall. Songbird’s screaming ceased. Heart pounding, I pushed my way into the hut.

The smell of blood filled my nostrils, and Songbird looked very small in the corner of the hut.

Sorry for the cutoff, but that’s 10 sentences. For the whole post, check my main blog. The Journal to date is on my author site. Jarn’s Journal gives part of the back story of the universe in which my science fiction novels are set. If you missed me last week, I was here, but somehow missed getting on the list. Just click home and scroll down.

If I can get away with a little bragging, Homecoming was discussed by the science fiction and fantasy book group at our local library last Monday, and the copies of Tourist Trap I bought were snatched up.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 271, Sunset #SFFSat

  1. Don’t you hate cliffhangers?

  2. T. M. Hunter says:

    I love a cliffhanger, myself…good stuff.

  3. amergina says:

    Nice snippet… and I’m off to the main blog to find out what happened!!!

  4. Jarn is like an anxious father. I love hearing his logical deduction flap out the window as he’s filled with worry. Wonderful.

  5. tktoppin says:

    I’m going over to the longer post!!! Exciting. Glad I stopped by, else I would’ve missed this.

Leave a Reply

