Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 225 #sffsat

It’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, when a group of author of speculative fiction get together in a blog hop with snippets (up to 10 sentences) of our work. When you’ve finished this, hop over to other fantastic authors (use the link above) and have a look at their work. Have fun, and remember we all adore comments. (Almost as much as we adore buyers of our books. They’d make great Christmas presents.)

 Year 4 Day 225

Globe showing NE corner of Africa. P.S. Schubert, MorgefileI wish I could remember Kana’s pregnancy better. She was a colleague years ago, and the only R’il’nian woman I ever saw pregnant. It seems to me she changed a lot more than Songbird, while staying much better balanced, which goes along with what little information I can find on the computer. With Songbird, I am forced to rely on Meerkat, who still insists the pregnancy is going well.

Mapping the coastline has hit a couple of snags. The northeastward trend changed abruptly when the coastline turned due west, to my relief. I know there is salt water far north of where I first crash-landed the emergency craft, and the turn to the west seemed to indicate that I was finally moving toward it. But yesterday I suddenly realized that another coastline was approaching the one I followed, from farther north. Today I found that while they approach each other so closely that I no longer have to levitate to see the northern landmass, they do not actually meet. Rather, the approach forms a gateway to a wider sea leading north-northeast.

Jarn is a fictional human-like alien who was stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago, during the interglacial prior to the one we’re in. He’s joined up with a group of primitive humans, who insist on treating him as a god, despite his protests. Songbird, her young mate Giraffe, and Meerkat have remained to serve Jarn while the rest of the group has dispersed to follow the game.

For a longer version, see my main blog. Jarn’s Journal to date is on my author site.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 225 #sffsat

  1. jccassels says:

    Nothing like a new discovery to take Jarn’s mind off Songbird’s pregnancy. I love it!

  2. tktoppin says:

    Yet another great snippet! I agree with JC..heeheh

  3. Peter Vialls says:

    Pregnancy is scary for those watching and trying to support the pregnant woman. Being in that situation when an alien, unsure how the pregnancy is supposed to develop, must be even more frightening – Jarn’s underlying worries come across loud and clear. An effective sequence.

  4. Very intriguing about the landmasses. I could picture it all very well, Sue Ann!

    🙂 Heidi

    • I just hope I’m portraying that part of Africa correctly. I have maps and satellite images, but I’ve never been there. I’m assuming that Jarn can levitate a mile or more up without problems (that’s only Denver elevation) and from that height he should be able to see close to a hundred miles to the horizon. So he could easily see across the strait, but not the width of the Red Sea once past the strait.

    • Thanks. I’m writing these in a bit of a hurry, because I’ve started the formal (with an editor) editing of my Horizon War trilogy. First cut: not enough overall plot arc. Well, there is, but the POVs I’ve used don’t know what the villain is up to–so I have to write several chapters from the villain’s POV. Stupid me–I knew what he was up to, so the plot arc was there for me, but not for a reader.

  5. His emotion is always there but so muted: makes for such an interesting read every time.

  6. T. M. Hunter says:

    Good stuff, as always!

  7. amergina says:

    I was trying to figure out exactly where this was. 🙂 And your comment provided the clue. Enjoyed the snippet!

  8. gayleramage says:

    I agree with JC regarding keeping his mind off the pregnancy. If he just had that to focus on, he’d be pulling out his hair with worry, most probably.

  9. It must look quite alien to Jarn 😉

  10. Very nice imagery here. I feel as if I’m discovering the landscape along with him.

Leave a Reply

