Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 90 #sffsat

Year 4 Day 90

Is this possible?

Lions, MorguefileI have been torn between wanting the company of the People and the knowledge that I could not survive as they do. My feet will not stand walking, I am all but helpless without the computer, and I have far less strength and skill than do they. I was happiest with Songbird, but I could not keep her separate from her people. Yet now she wishes to stay with me, along with Giraffe.

Rain Cloud and Dust Devil came together to the portico of my new home this morning, trailed by Songbird, Giraffe and Meerkat. They bowed low, much to my annoyance – I hate having my home treated as a temple. Then they began a long spiel, interrupting each other frequently, about how they wished to honor me but it was difficult when they would soon be moving on after the herds. That they had something in mind that they were not sure I would accept was obvious. Meerkat again?

What do the two shamans have in mind? The answer is in the longer post on my main blog, and the entire Journal to date is at my author site.

Welcome to Science Fiction Fantasy Saturday. On the surface, it’s a web ring of authors who post snippets of their work for comment. In reality, it’s a close-knit group of friends and colleagues working together to support and encourage one another and promote the science fiction and fantasy genres.

– JC Cassels, 2012

Anyone is welcome to join us, provided there is no adult content in the snippets that are submitted to the ring. Submissions with adult content will be removed from the final published lists with no explanations.

The work that is shared is exclusively the work of the respective authors, and should not be reproduced in any shape or form without the express permission of the particular authors.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 90 #sffsat

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    Good stuff, as always…thankfully no one has ever confused my home with a temple.

  2. It would seem that Jarn is unwittingly steering them away from the life of a nomad. Interesting.

  3. jccassels says:

    I had to go to the longer entry. I couldn’t stand it! So cool to see this turn of events! I’m in danger of going all fangirl over Jarn.

  4. gayleramage says:

    I’m going to have a look at the longer entry, too. I’m just too nosy. I’ve not participated in SFFSat for a wee bit so Meerkat and Giraffe are new characters to me. Looks like I have a bit of catching up to do!

  5. I had to read the longer snippet as well. I was thinking that might be the case, but it’s still so interesting to see it playing out. What will having these two stay mean for Jarn? Is his detached objectivity on the way out for good? Great stuff.

  6. pippajay says:

    Lol, they keep giving him meerkats?

    • Meerkat is the name of the woman he found over a year earlier who was the only survivor of a group that starved to death. She survived in part because she had been so fat, and when Jarn found her, her skin was far too large for her by-then-emaciated body. She turned out to be a remote relative of the old shaman, Storm Cloud, so Storm Cloud’s group (now led by her son, Rain Cloud) took her in, but she doesn’t really have a place with them.

Leave a Reply

