Jarn’s Journal Year 4, Day 64 #SFFSat

Year 4 Day 64

Date Palm, MorguefileI think last year the gather was longer than usual, because of Storm Cloud’s illness and possibly because of my presence. This year I can see more clearly why they have these meetings, and that not all the scattered bands come. Two are here for the first time in several years, one sent word they were not coming, and three simply did not show up.

Mostly, the business of the gather is arranging matings, formalizing them, and recognizing and welcoming children born since the last gather. Beyond that, it seems a time for meeting old friends, exchanging information, and just plain partying.

Did I mention that they have discovered that certain half-rotted fruits affect them rather strongly? They don’t seem to affect me, and I don’t even care for the taste. Some of the young men, in particular, can get downright wild and irresponsible when indulging. I was pleased to observe that Giraffe was not among them.

I am getting quite spoiled by the cooked food they bring me, and I am doing my best to make returns by presenting them with things they have difficulty in procuring for themselves.

Jarn’s Journal is a fictional journal kept by a fictional human-like alien who was stranded on Earth, in Africa, 125,000 years ago. The climate was interglacial at the time; the People are our ancestors. I’m writing the Journal in bits as you see it here and on my main blog; each week’s episode is added to the long version on my author site. Jarn’s story is part of the backstory of the Jarnian Confederation, where my science fiction novels Homecoming and Tourist Trap are set.

By the way, Tourist Trap was reviewed in my local paper last week. I was really pleased by this: “Bowling is truly one of those authors whose books you devour, coming up sated but already hungering for another fix.”

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4, Day 64 #SFFSat

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    Congratulations on the review, and a good snippet as always! Sounds like our church district’s annual gathering…aside from the arranging of matings (as far as I know). 🙂

  2. Ah, the discovery of fermentation! Good times lie ahead for them. And, congrats on the review!

    • Fermentation occurs naturally, and I’m assuming that ways of encouraging it were very early. Beer would have had to wait for the widespread use of grain (probably the dawn of farming) but many fruits ferment naturally. In the longer version on my main blog, they’ve discovered that adding water to dates (which Jarn has found and presented to the children) allows them to ferment, too.

  3. jccassels says:

    Congratulations on the review! I love the description of the gathering and of the carousing! Wonderful stuff!

  4. nrgalloway24 says:

    Awesome review! That is pretty amazing. As always I love Jarn’s Journal. There is some really great world building of the cultural type. I’m still struggling to get the hang of it myself. Thanks for sharing your work.

    Keep writing and I’ll keep reading!

    • Jarn’s Journal is almost entirely world building and the history of my SF universe. It doesn’t have much of a plot, nor is it intended to. The things that make it critical to my published work, Homecoming and Tourist Trap (and the trilogy I’ve finally gotten around to getting ready for my editor) are still to happen.

  5. Good stuff! And please pass the half-rotted fruit! Huzzah!

    • I’m not so sure the discovery of alcohol was a Good Thing (though other types of fermentation are very useful at food preservation.)
      But I suspect is was a very early discovery, along with other mind-altering substances. Anyway the R’il’nai (such as Jarn) have an enzyme in their saliva that breaks alcohol down almost at once. Jarn literally cannot be affected by drinking alcohol. (This is an important subplot in the trilogy I’m editing, and was touched on in Tourist Trap.)

  6. Great snippet, and congrats on the review!!

  7. Thanks. It’s not something I’m planning to publish myself, unless I ever get around to the novel on the Kharfun epidemic, in which case it will appear as bits of a very old book one of the characters is reading. (see the start of the stuff on my website.) But the story is in the back of my head aw the remote background of the universe I write in

Leave a Reply

