Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 1

In case you’re new to this, Jarn’s Jounal is the (fictional) journal of a (fictional) human-like alien stranded on Earth, in Africa, 125,000 years ago. A longer version is on my main blog; my author site has all of Jarn’s Journal to date. Since I’m heading for a writers Conference this weekend, I’ll be around to see others later.

Visit the other Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday authors. And we all love comments.

 Year 4 Day 1

GiraffeHow strange it feels to write this date, and realize that in 116 days I will have been here for four years. It is the northward equinox again, a fitting day for my final move. The solar panels are installed, I have almost completed a crude generator, and I have moved everything I can possibly use from the old shelter. It seems strange to return there now and see nothing but the calendar.

The nomads will be here in a few fivedays, if they follow the same schedule they did last year. I wonder what they will think of my new home. It is not at all conspicuous, and I can at least hope they do not try to treat is as a temple.

I have to admit that I will be happy to see them again. I need to trade for more tanned skins and weaving, and I’m afraid my cooking has not improved with time.

And to tell the truth, I am increasingly lonely here.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 4 Day 1

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    Certainly hope Jarn finds someone…

  2. jccassels says:

    Jarn breaks my heart.

  3. tktoppin says:

    Good stuff, as usual. Poor Jarn…and he can’t even bury his woes by eating himself silly…especially if he’s not a great cook. Sigh….

  4. Jarn needs at least somebody with whom to talk. Wait! Does he have a volleyball handy?

  5. Oh, I’m definitely reading the longer version. Nice work!

  6. Wow, the ending of this one is jarring. It’s the first snippet I’ve read where Jarn’s logical, level-headed nature is interrupted by emotion. Lovely to see.

Leave a Reply

