Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 275 #sffsat

Silhouette of a womanJarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a fictional human-like alien marooned in Africa some 125,000 years ago. He has befriended a tribe of early humans after saving one of the children, Songbird. A somewhat longer version of this post can be found at my main blog; Jarn’s Journal to date can be found on my author site.

Year 3 Day 275

Songbird has become a woman.

I don’t know why I am so surprised. I knew that these people mature far faster than my own species, that the females are fertile quite often – they must be, to have several children of different ages at once. I had deduced that with them, pelvic width and breast development were not a sign of rare fertile periods, as is the case with my own people, but normal once sexual maturity was reached.

Somehow I had not applied that knowledge to Songbird.

I decided to go looking for Rain Cloud’s group, with the aid of Patches. She knows them, so I just levitated high enough I could see a day’s journey in all directions, and then teleported her to the vicinity of any concentrations of game I could see. Within three days she had located the group, and I flew to them, lowered myself to the surface and walked in.

They appeared pleased, if surprised, to see me. “Are you not staying by the lake?” Rain Cloud asked me.

“I have built a shelter there, but I have not yet moved everything I need,” I explained.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is a web ring of science fiction/fantasy authors who post snippets of their work each Saturday (UK time.) Have a look at the other participants!

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 275 #sffsat

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    Fun snippet…should be interesting to see how things go with Songbird “suddenly” becoming a woman. 🙂

  2. I had to get caught up, since I missed the last couple weeks. Songbird’s maturity should prove to be an interesting…uh, development.

  3. Gayle Ramage says:

    I wonder just how this will change Jarn’s ‘relationship’ with Songbird. Interesting snippet. 🙂

  4. jccassels says:

    Poor, lonely Jarn. 🙂

  5. “Songbird has become a woman.”
    This says it all! Definite progression with lots of possibilities. 🙂

  6. As usual, his considerations of his surroundings and the humans he’s working with/studying. I wonder what will come out of his realizing Songbird has become a woman.

Leave a Reply

