Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 195

Year 3 Day 195Moon over Africa, Emlyn Anderson from Morguefile

I think I’ve solved the light problem. I’ve been fusing the local soil for the main structure, and have gotten pretty good at it. It takes a lot of energy, and while I can get some of that energy from the waterfall, I am still limited to a small amount of building in a given day.

In a way this has been an advantage. Since I can do only a small amount a day, I’ve noticed that different soils give different colors to the fabric of the structure, and started searching for different raw materials, just out of curiosity. And I’ve found a pale sand that is translucent when fused. In fact, today I tried really increasing the fusion temperature, and found that if I heat it until it is all liquid and then cool it rapidly, it is transparent enough to see through. I can use it at strategic points to have a view of the lake and the mountains when I am indoors! I can even view the wildlife safely.

Happy Dance: I got back the ForeWord Clarion review of Tourist Trap, my book that won Fiction Book of the Year in the Reader Views contest. 5 stars, and they don’t give those often!

Jarn’s Journal is a snippet from the fictitious journal of an equally fictitious human-like alien who was stranded in Africa 125,000 years ago. The story may be found on my author website, and there is a longer version of this week’s episode on my main blog. Visit the Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday website  for snippets from other SFF authors.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 195

  1. T. M. Hunter says:

    The first window! 🙂

  2. My Minecraft obsessed 6 year old would be so proud of Jarn for making glass! Also, a HUGE congrats on the 5 star review.

  3. Congratulations on your 5 stars! That’s very exciting! 😀 And this is a great snippet. His voice is just so interesting and his progression of thought, his discovery of earth and its properties. So neat!

Leave a Reply

