Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 136

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of an equally fictional human-like alien who was stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. His story is part of the remote back story of my two science fiction novels, Homecoming and Tourist Trap. A somewhat longer version of this post can be found on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author site. Do stop by and visit with the other Science fiction and fantasy writers who have also posted snippets on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday.

Year 3 Day 136

Africa, cloudsThe computer is no help at all.

Oh, it has an architectural module. I can play all I want with floor plans, wall finishes, furniture – anything like that. But it assumes I have access to finished materials, standard furnishings, and robot builders, none of which are available here.

What I do have is plant material in a wide variety of shapes, sizes and hardness, animal skins and bones, rocks of all sizes, and dirt. Lots of dirt. Can I use the architectural program to define the shape of what I want, and somehow build walls, roof and even furnishings from what I have?

I decided some time ago on a site. It is well above the lake, with a beautiful view. I wish I had some transparent material that would keep animals and insects out while allowing me to look out, but for the moment daylight will have to come from thinly scraped skins.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 136

  1. Aston West says:

    Too bad the computer doesn’t allow for user-defined materials to be added to the architectural program…

  2. Why couldn’t the programmers have had the foresight to add in non-finished materials? Sheesh! I’m not buying that software. That’s for sure!

  3. As usual, I love listening to the process of Jarn’s thought. How he moves through a problem is so practical. I’m sure he’ll come up with a solution using what he has. He seems to be resourceful. Neat!

  4. I have faith in Jarn’s inventiveness and I can sympathize with his frustrations.

  5. I feel the invention of glass coming on! Good luck Jarn 🙂

Leave a Reply

