Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 60 #sffsat

My first shelter was the escape capsule, where it half-crashed.

African Sunset, rygers@hotmail.co.ukMy second was nearby, my only thought to find a place high enough that I need not fear the rising water, but within easy teleport range – I’d forgotten how to counterweight, then, so it had to be close. But it was still not a particularly pleasant spot, nor one I would have chosen.

This ….

Here I am near the shore of a lake, with trees and grass nearby. Here I can watch sunrises and sunsets of surpassing beauty, with little fear of fire. Even the predators, I now suspect, are an excuse for not camping at this site, but preserving it as a ceremonial meeting place.

For it is considered sacred and thus, Storm Cloud tells me, a suitable place for me to stay.

This is my contribution to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, a webring of authors publishing snippets of their science fiction and/or fantasy each Saturday. Jarn’s Journal is a regular feature on my main blog, and can be found in its entirety (so far) on my author site. If you want more snippets from other talented authors, click the link above.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 60 #sffsat

  1. T.K. Toppin says:

    Wow. Sounds like a really beautiful spot to stay. I’d pick there too. Nice snippet – I could just picture it.

  2. Beautiful writing as always. One subjective comment–the picture posted beside the snippet is gorgeous, but it gave me a mental image before I started reading the words. Your writing is descriptive enough; I didn’t need the visual aide.

    • Oh, the photos are pure eye candy. Like the Hubble photos on Six Sentence Sunday. I tried to comment on yours, but the captcha defeated me. I never can figure out where the spaces are supposed to be on that type.

  3. Yes, but there are reasons it’s considered sacred. And he has a lot of stuff to move.

  4. I think he needs the beauty in his life.

  5. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Dang. Word Press ate my comment. What was I muttering/typing about?

    Oh, I like the way you throw in the teleporting reference. Sheds great light on the character and process without being expository. I really like all your character’s names, too. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned that.

  6. what a peaceful little snippet!

Leave a Reply

