Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 50 #sffsat

As usual, here’s a snippet from Jarn’s Journal. For a longer version see my main blog; for the whole Journal to date see my author site. There are a number of other authors on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday; visit them!

Year 3 Day 50

African lake at sunrist, rygers@hotmail.co.ukIt seems I am faced with a choice.

I can be treated as a god.

Or I can find some place where the People never come, and live utterly alone, perhaps for centuries.

I cannot face the second option.

I do not want to be a god. But already I have influenced these people, simply by knowing that certain things – like the fish traps or weaving clothes as they weave baskets – are possible. Can I live among them without changing them?

Some of the shamans still fear that I will diminish their authority, but most want me to stay near their gathering place. It is certainly a better place than that where my shelter is now. There is a lake, and trees, and a great abundance of wild animals.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 50 #sffsat

  1. Aston West says:

    Always tough, having to choose whether to be treated like a god…

  2. Godhood. Hermit. Godhood. Hermit. Hmmm…

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Oh the decisions!! Always a bother when you have to choose being a god or not. Great stuff, as always!!

  4. jccassels says:

    Tough choices for Jarn. Thought provoking.

  5. Seems to me, even if Jarn disappeared this very moment, he’d still live on in the mythos of this civilization. In other words: his Godhood is already an established fact.

    • If you look at the first part of Jarn’s Journal on my author page, you’ll see that his Journal eventually became the basis for a number of “Holy Books.” But many of the parts I’ve given were left out.

  6. A very difficult choice.

  7. pippajay says:

    With such a primitive people and no science, anything he does is going to seem godlike to them.

Leave a Reply

