Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 25

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He has met and befriended a group of early humans, and they insist on treating him as a god. A slightly longer version of this entry can be found on my main blog; Jarn’s Journal to date is on my Author site.

Year 3 Day 25

I don’t know why I worried about clothes.

African sunset, Emlyn AddisonI teleported to where Storm Cloud had said their last camp would be well into the afternoon, to find them still present. Songbird caught me by the hand at once, and pulled me toward the shaman’s hut. “Hurry, hurry, she cried, “we must adorn you!” The next thing I knew I was being stripped and elaborately dressed in beautifully tanned leather, covered with designs in ivory and shell beads, porcupine quills, and carved bone. At least the loincloth they gave me didn’t chafe like mine. Perhaps I could trade for some properly tanned leather?

I managed to talk them out of dressing my hair with mud, but not out of the strongly scented fat they rubbed into it. Not that it made much difference, as they then covered it with a creation of feathers, fur and more beads that covered my head to such an extent that I could hardly see. Then they proceeded to paint designs on whatever skin was still visible.

If you want to join in the fun, or read bits from the other authors who participate in Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday, just lick on the link.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3 Day 25

  1. Aston West says:

    Interesting snippet…

  2. T.K. Toppin says:

    Very descriptive. I think Jarn should trade for properly tanned leather — chafing is never a good thing. 🙂

  3. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Lovely descriptions, as always. And, yes, one never wants one’s loincloth to chafe. Trust me.

  4. One has to dress a god properly to present to company. 😉 Nice snippet! I must remember the bit about chafing leather clothing.

  5. jccassels says:

    OUCH! Chafing leather loincloth! Wonderful descriptions. I love the bit about the mud and fat!

  6. Loved it. No longer worried about clothes!

  7. I think they just like to play dress up with their Jarn.

Leave a Reply

