Jarn’s Journal Year 3, Day 22

This is an except from the fictional journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. A longer version can be found on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author website.

This is ridiculous.

I am not a young buck trying to impress the does, though no doubt there will be some at this gather. I am certainly not trying to convince anyone that I am a god – the People (as they call themselves) seem altogether too inclined to believe that anyway. So why am I worrying about clothes?

Worrying about footwear would make sense. My feet have still not hardened to the point I can walk any distance without covering them, though I can now walk for an hour or so in the tanned skin bags I have fashioned. The rest of my wardrobe ….

Well, my ship clothing is past repair. I have the linen tunic and a leather vest that Songbird made me, but they are getting badly worn. My tanning skills are not up to Songbird’s, and nowhere even close to her mother’s, but I’ve managed to tan — sort of – some gazelle skins for breechcloths.

Like some more snippets of science fiction or fantasy? Get on over to Science Fiction and Fantasy Sunday.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 3, Day 22

  1. Aston West says:

    If I had to survive on my clothes-making skills, I’d be in trouble…

    • I’d have trouble myself, with no cloth, needles, thread, tanned leather, or anything else not directly produced by nature. Makes you realize how many skills our ancestors needed to develop.

  2. @CaryCaffrey says:

    Indeed. I have a difficult enough time finding shoes while shopping. Strangely enough, I think my greatest fear is being stranded on an island somewhere with no shoes at all!

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Hehe, well I do believe Jarn’s a little nervous about his appearance. I can totally empathize!!!

    • He dived into the emergency capsule with the clothes on his back. The capsule had an emergency kit and computer, but no clothes. His luggage is somewhere at the bottom of the Atlantic.

  4. In Jarn’s situation I’d already be running around nekkid. I can skin something, but I have no idea how to tan or sew hide.

  5. I can see that making clothing would be time consuming with a big learning curve!

  6. I’d have Jarn beat on this one. Too many summers spent with an archeologist mother on “learning vacations”. I really love that Jarn is not some omniscient, omnipotent, visitor.

    • Heck, I’d have Jarn beat, though not as much as you probably would. But he has some talents (teleportation, levitation, telepathy) not to mention the computer, that make the locals see him as godlike.

  7. I like his worry over clothes and his own amusement at it.

Leave a Reply

