Jarn’s Journal Year 2, Day 339

Year 2, Day 339

African Wild DogI am beginning to wonder if I may have promised more than I can deliver.

Yesterday morning was devoted to filling water containers, finding food (for three groups now) and checking on the woman whose name, I have finally discovered, is Meerkat. Then I teleported Patches and myself to the last camp of Lion’s group and had Patches try to track them to their next camp. Patches can move a good deal faster than they can, and they usually stop to hunt well before dark, so I caught them just as they are staring to look for a campsite. I spotted a good site ahead of them and guided them to it. By that time, however, Patches was getting tired of tracking. Getting her to follow the hunters from Storm Cloud’s camp toward Meerkat’s took a good deal more mental control than I really like to use, and it was full dark before we found them and delivered their water.

I hoped to break up the tracking by having Patches track the hunters partway in the morning, as they leave as soon as there is any light at all. Then Patches could rest while I took food and water to Meerkat and filled the water containers for Lion’s group. Actually finding the group was as much a matter of guessing as following Patches, who by that time was sore-footed as well as rebellious. When it came to following the hunters from where they’d been around noon, she simply laid down and dared me to drive her on.

Jarn’s Journal is part of the back story of my published science fiction. Jarn is a human-like alien, a R’il’nian, who was stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago and is interacting with our human ancestors. He has a variety of esper talents and can teleport himself and Patches, the African Wild Dog he rescued as a very young pup, but he is hopeless at tracking and a good many other survival skills. This is a shortened excerpt from his (fictional) journal, taken from a longer version on my main site. The journal as a whole is being transferred to my author site as I get it written.

There are a number of other fine authors on Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday. Find them here.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2, Day 339

  1. Aston West says:

    Great snippet…if I was Patches, I think I’d be the same way.

  2. I’m starting to think that Jarn has overstayed his welcome. Great snippet!

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Yet another great snippet!

  4. Poor patches. Be nice, Jarn! I love reading these snippets.

  5. I love reading about Jarn each week. As always, you’ve written something evocative and wonderful.

  6. S A Check says:

    Great pretense to the whole story and a wonderful way to look at the world from an outsiders eyes. We always seem to see more from a stranger’s point of view than our own, but after 125,000, I guess we’re more of the strangers than he is, which makes it even better. I’m looking forward to reading more about this great world you’ve created. Thanks for sharing it.

  7. I’m trying to be as accurate as possible about what Africa was like 125,000 years ago.

  8. Chill out Jarn!! He’s being pushy this week, isn’t he!?
    Still love reading these though.
    Well done.

Leave a Reply

