Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 337 Continued #SFFSat

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He has made contact with the humans of that time, our remote ancestors. A slightly longer version of this entry is on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author site.

Year 2, Day 337 Continued

To my considerable surprise Songbird, with the authority of the Shaman’s necklace, was actually able to convince Lion that my “godly” powers did not extend to making it rain, though I could teleport water-filled containers to a band on the move. They were far more apprehensive about Patches, whom they had not seen before. Songbird laughed and hugged the animal, which seemed to reassure them a little. At least they didn’t totally panic when I had the wild dog get their scent so I could have her track them.

<a href="http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=576&picture=sunset-in-serengeti">Sunset In Serengeti</a>The sun was already low when I teleported Songbird, Patches and myself, along with a ground melon and some groundnuts, to the place where I had left the woman. She, too, was shocked, but chatted freely with Songbird while she kept a wary eye on Patches and I added a few more thorn branches to her barrier. Songbird looked carefully around her before we left. “Could you raise us up, so I can see farther?” she asked. Puzzled, I complied, letting her look around a little before I teleported us all back to Storm Cloud’s camp.

We arrived at sunset, with a hunting bird soaring overhead.

Like to see more science fiction and fantasy snippets? Go to Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday to find the other participating authors.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 337 Continued #SFFSat

  1. Aston West says:

    Interesting snippet!

  2. Wayne Basta says:

    Teleportation and ancient Africa. That is indeed an interesting concept.

  3. jccassels says:

    A dog! Perfect companion for Jarn!

  4. T.K. Toppin says:

    He got a dog!!! Aww. That is cool. Great snippet as usual.

  5. Lovely as always. I look forward to reading Jarn’s journal each week.

  6. Curious to know what she wanted to see.

  7. Songbird is a wise one. Love this journal.

  8. As usual, you have me believing I’m right there. Songbird and Patches make wonderful companions for Jarn!

  9. I am embarrassed to say that i knew nothing about Jarn before joining #SFFsat! Now Iam hooked! love the scenes you allow to see. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

