Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 337 #sffsat

Here’s the next entry in Jarn’s Journal, the fictional journal of a human-like alien stranded in Africa some 125,000 years ago. There is a slightly longer version on my main blog; the entire Journal to date is on my author website.

 Year 2 Day 337

I couldn’t find Storm Cloud’s group yesterday evening, or the evening before! I wasn’t  too worried about them; they were getting into an area where they could find ground melons, if not surface water. But I wanted to talk with Storm Cloud about the other groups I’ve seen, especially about the one with only a single survivor.

Luckily I remembered how easily Patches backtracked the hyena, and this morning I teleported her to the last place I’m sure was on the group’s trail, and asked her to find Songbird. She set off at once, though somewhat puzzled by my wanting her to follow such an old trail. I flew above her, coming back to earth often to rest my mind, and by late in the afternoon we had caught up with the group. Obviously they did not need water; they were camped not far from a lake.

“Storm Cloud,” I said, “I need your advice,” and I poured out my problems: Lion’s group, the lone woman who was regaining her strength but was a magnet for predators, and the three other groups I’d seen. (I’d spotted another while searching for Storm Cloud’s group.)

Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday is a blog ring of authors sharing snippets of their science fiction and fantasy. Visit the other authors, and we all love comments.

About sueannbowlingauthor

Sue Ann Bowling earned a bachelor’s degree in physics at Radcliffe/Harvard and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Alaska. After thirty years of teaching, she retired to focus on writing. Bowling has lived in Alaska for fifty years. Visit her Web site on canine color genetics at http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html.
This entry was posted in SFFSaturday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Jarn’s Journal Year 2 Day 337 #sffsat

  1. Always good to have a confidant. We all need those, especially poor, displaced Jarn!

  2. Aston West says:

    Good snippet…I can’t imagine the lone survivor would last much longer without anyone else.

  3. T.K. Toppin says:

    Yet another great snippet. Glad Jarn has a friend in Songbird.

  4. I don’t care who you are. It’s always good to have somebody with whom to talk about your problems

  5. bless his socks! I must read them all!!

  6. Oh! I do love Jarn for his worrying.

  7. Jarn is such a cool guy–alien, Likable– his concerns become mine as I read.

  8. This had so much in such a small amount of words: history, topography, sociology. A whole culture in a moment’s peek–that’s talent. This is a very interesting world, but I found myself wondering about Jarn’s flying the most. Very neat.

  9. I wish we all had a Jarn to look out for us.

  10. jccassels says:

    I do so love Jarn. How lonely he must feel. I’m glad he has someone to talk with.

Leave a Reply

